#1  
Old August 29th, 2008, 10:45 AM
johno8 johno8 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
johno8 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy locked out

hi need some help like fast
Ihave got the modem router DG834G with the USB adaptor WG111V2. Both installed o,k but since shutting down the computer with the USB adaptor and starting up again, it keeps asking me for a password, no matter what I put in, it locks me out.Need some help, thanks, Brian.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 29th, 2008, 11:21 AM
fihart's Avatar
fihart fihart is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,191
fihart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: locked out

Having to guess here -- is the ISP asking for the password, is it wireless security, or are you trying to access the router user interface?

Or is the computer asking for a password. You do need to be more specific.

For now I'll guess you need to reboot the router or, if you can access the router's user interface via an ethernet, turn off wireless security temporarily. Consult the router or wireless adapter manual for how.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 29th, 2008, 11:24 AM
GLaDOS's Avatar
GLaDOS GLaDOS is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
Posts: 1,428
GLaDOS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: locked out

It's an issue with the software sometimes overwrites some files upon install, changes the windows login to force the login screen.
You have to figure out your login password, and then once you're into windows you have to change the option to disable the login screen. I've heard of it before, and thats your only ability.
__________________
-GLaDOS
"The Enrichment Center is committed to the well being of all participants. Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test. Thank you for helping us help you help us all."
"All right, keep doing whatever it is you think you're doing. Killing you and giving you good advice aren't mutually exclusive. The rocket really is the way to go."

"Stop squirming and die like an adult, or I'm going to delete your backup. STOP! Okay, enough, I deleted it. No matter what happens now, you're dead. You're still shuffling around a little, but believe me, you're dead. The part of you that could have survived indefinitely is gone. I just struck you from the permanent record."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 29th, 2008, 11:29 AM
fihart's Avatar
fihart fihart is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,191
fihart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: locked out

If it's the Windows XP login problem (caused by a Netgear software component) there's an easy fix -- I've used it but the name escapes me.

If you haven't set a password, just click OK and you should get into Windows.
Once in you go to Control Panel and User Accounts and select Change The Way Users Log On or Off.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 29th, 2008, 11:47 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: locked out

XP_FixLogon.exe - Fix Windows® XP Logon/Restore Welcome Screen
© Doug Knox - 03/25/2002
Usage: Download XP_FixLogon.ZIP and save this file to your hard drive. Navigate to where you saved it and double click the file. Extract XP_FixLogon.exe from the zip file and double click it.* The program will tell you if repairs are needed or not.
This utility checks for the correct GINA value in the Registry and will allow you to restore it, if its incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 30th, 2008, 01:08 AM
johno8 johno8 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
johno8 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Re: locked out

hi its asking for a password to get into windows atstart up , so u can see i am well stuck thanks for all the help brian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 30th, 2008, 03:05 AM
johno8 johno8 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
johno8 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: locked out

Quote:
Originally Posted by johno8 View Post
hi its asking for a password to get into windows atstart up , so u can see i am well stuck thanks for all the help brian
ps i also cant log on to the router it will not take my password
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 30th, 2008, 07:59 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: locked out

Quote:
Originally Posted by johno8 View Post
hi its asking for a password to get into windows atstart up , so u can see i am well stuck thanks for all the help brian
go into safe mode and see if you can rectify it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 30th, 2008, 08:01 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: locked out

Quote:
Originally Posted by johno8 View Post
ps i also cant log on to the router it will not take my password

default is password for password

if this sky ISP you need to use sky as username and password is password I think. you can search the thread

or if not SKY ISP

hard reset the router ( see "router reset" on my sig below, step1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:38 AM.