#1  
Old August 29th, 2008, 10:44 PM
Julsalk Julsalk is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Julsalk is on a distinguished road
Default Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

Hi,

I'm hoping someone might be able to help me please ........

I've been trying to setup a network between 2 computers at home and not having any luck with the 2nd computer.

I have a 'downstairs' computer which is the main computer, it is running Vista and connected to the router via ethernet cable. The router is a Netgear Rangemax WPN824 v2.

I have been able to setup this computer and connect through to the internet without problem (using a DLink 302g modem). My problem starts when I try to connect the 'upstairs' computer to the network / router.

The Upstairs computer is running XP and I am trying to connect using a wireless adapter Netgear Rangemax Wireless WPN111. I have run all the setup information, choosing to connect via Windows rather than the wizard (had tried the wizard previously without success). I can see the Router name and it shows a strong signal (full bars). I can also see a number of other networks around the area with varying strength in signal. When I try to connect to my network it asks me for my password which I enter but it fails to connect everytime. When I restart my XP computer, it automatically connects to another network which is not password protected and it only has one bar of signal strength which indicates to me that the adapter is working but I'm missing something in getting my two computers to see / talk to each other.

Could anyone please, please help me? I've searched and not been able to find anything that can fix and I'm sure I'm just missing something small in the setup. I have made sure that the workgroup names are the same.

Thanks
Julie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 30th, 2008, 02:04 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,558
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

Have you changed the router SSID (network name) from ‘Netgear’? If not this can cause problems if there is another network nearby also using the default.

If you have any software firewalls running on the PC try disabling them.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 30th, 2008, 02:17 PM
Julsalk Julsalk is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Julsalk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

I have changed the SSID name from Netgear and disabled the firewall on the 2nd computer.

I also tried connecting my work laptop to this network last night to see if it would go through, but it wouldn't connect either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 30th, 2008, 02:26 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

Quote:
hen I try to connect to my network it asks me for my password which I enter but it fails to connect everytime.
fail to detail the type of encryption you are using
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 30th, 2008, 02:28 PM
Julsalk Julsalk is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Julsalk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

I'm using WPA-PSK [TKIP]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 30th, 2008, 02:40 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julsalk View Post
I'm using WPA-PSK [TKIP]
Should be pass phrase your typed in router interface.

Unless the PC still trying to connect wrong SSID
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 1st, 2008, 07:31 PM
marlenerw marlenerw is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
marlenerw is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

I am having this exact same problem except that some laptops can see the SSID and others can't.

Did you figure out what was wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 5th, 2008, 06:03 AM
jmatting jmatting is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
jmatting is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Setting up network and can't connect 2nd computer.

I'm having the exact same problem. Anyone find a solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:43 AM.