Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 9th, 2008, 06:29 PM
Warlain Warlain is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Warlain is on a distinguished road
Default Wireless "Not Connected" but Connected

I'm having a strange problem with my wireless connection on a WGR614v4.

When I connect with my laptop the wireless connections menu (standard plug and play windows manager, no third party software) says "Not Connected", yet I can access the internet for some reason.

Occasionally, in what I assume is a connected phenomenon, it occasionally loses its connection with the router altogether. I'd say it drops me about once every 15 minutes or so.

It also takes longer than it ought to to establish the quasi-connection to begin with.

I'm running it in G-only mode with a WEP key.

The router is about 8 feet from the laptop (while I'm testing it, not all the time or I'd just run a wire) and I have full signal strength bars.

The "Attached Devices" menu says the laptop has an IP address.

I'm clueless as to what the hell is going on, and I can't think up any good search terms to help me find the answer on the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 9th, 2008, 10:13 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,451
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless "Not Connected" but Connected

Are there any insecure networks nearby that you could be accidentally connecting to? If your Network name (SSID) is still the default ‘Netgear’ then change it to something else only you will recognise.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 10th, 2008, 06:53 AM
Warlain Warlain is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Warlain is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless "Not Connected" but Connected

Nope. I'm not connecting through any other network.

The network name isn't netgear either.

When I look at the wireless networks it says "Not connected" in bold next to my router, where it says nothing for any other network. In addition, the botton at the bottom right of the window says "disconnect" when I highlight my network. So the computer knows its connected in some fashion to my network, but it says "Not connected".

I was thinking that maybe the computer thinks it's connected to the network but not to the internet, even though it is actually connected to the internet.

Maybe it is having some trouble getting itself assigned an ip or mac address or something.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 13th, 2008, 01:29 PM
Kinzzey Kinzzey is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 15
Kinzzey is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless "Not Connected" but Connected

Try Disabling and re-enabling your wireless network connection and check if that will work
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 13th, 2008, 07:10 PM
Warlain Warlain is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Warlain is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless "Not Connected" but Connected

Nope. That doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 13th, 2008, 10:31 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,451
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless "Not Connected" but Connected

Are you sure there is no third party process running in the background resulting in a conflicting status? Take a look at your running processes to see if there is anything like a wireless configuration client, there are a few sites on the Internet which provide details of running processes e.g. http://processlist.com/

There's also these;

http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/...nected-bu.aspx

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,15320145

http://www.computing.net/answers/net...ted/27675.html

I Googled "wireless connected but not" and saw a few people with your issue, but different solutions.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.

Last edited by Mars Mug; November 13th, 2008 at 10:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 14th, 2008, 05:50 PM
Warlain Warlain is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Warlain is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless "Not Connected" but Connected

One of the links you gave me solved the problem, although I'm still not quite sure what the problem was.

I deleted the network from advanced settings and set it back up again. I donno what fouled up in there, but resetting to defaults seems to have fixed it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:19 AM.