#1  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 07:52 AM
Spitfire181 Spitfire181 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Spitfire181 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Reset the WEP

Hello,

I set up a WEP code on my router and didnít write the darn thing down and now when I go to log onto the internet with my laptop I canít. It wants the WEP code. Is there anyway to reset the WEP code so that we can have internet again. Iíve tried the hard reset by pushing in the button but it doesnít seem to do anything. It still tells me that it needs the code for the wireless. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 12:52 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,686
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reset the WEP

You just connect a PC to the router by Ethernet cable, then you don’t need the WEP key to log into the router and change the wireless settings. If you had properly reset the router (which model by the way?) then the wireless function would be disabled. Have you not changed the wireless SSID from the default ‘Netgear’, if not then do so.
__________________
Now posting as Babylon5

Last edited by Mars Mug; January 2nd, 2009 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 02:18 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Reset the WEP

sounds like our "reset" was not reset since it's asking for WEP still

see manual
http://kbserver.netgear.com/downloads_support.asp

how to login and you will find quite easy to find your WEP

if you want to reset the router, see "router reset" on my sig below, step1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 04:39 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,686
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reset the WEP

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
sounds like our "reset" was not reset since it's asking for WEP still
Thatís why I mentioned the SSID, if his router is using the default SSID and there is another ĎNetgearí network nearby he could be inadvertently trying to connect to the wrong network, either that or the factory reset was not done properly.
__________________
Now posting as Babylon5
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 2nd, 2009, 07:04 PM
Spitfire181 Spitfire181 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Spitfire181 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reset the WEP

Thanks for the tips. I will try that and let you know how it turns out.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:32 PM.