#1  
Old January 23rd, 2009, 12:17 PM
MikeMast MikeMast is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
MikeMast is on a distinguished road
Unhappy WG111v3

Hi

I have been using the above adapter but it has started playing up e.g losing connection so unistalled it and reinstalled using latest software all goes fine until I try to apply netwrok settings and then it says validating settings but then loses connection, icon on task bar goes red then a few seconds later its green again any ideas on what the problem is. As it stands the connection remains but each time the computer is started up the netgear dialogue box appears.

any help appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 23rd, 2009, 12:46 PM
nobel_nomar's Avatar
nobel_nomar nobel_nomar is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,800
nobel_nomar is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WG111v3

Let windows configure the wireless connection and see if that helps any.
__________________
1-888-NETGEAR - (Phone Support)

"Apple's market share is bigger than BMW's or Mercedes's or Porsche's in the automotive market. What's wrong with being BMW or Mercedes?" -Steve Jobs

Network Cards/Adapters:
GA311, WNDA3100

Routers/APs/Switches:
DGDN3300, FVS114, GS108, WRT54GL (DD-WRT)

Comps:
MacBook C2D 2.0Ghz/3GB/250GB
Hackintosh C2D 2.4 GHz/4GB/700GB
iPhone 3G (16GB Black), Xbox 360, PS3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 24th, 2009, 06:37 AM
MikeMast MikeMast is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
MikeMast is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WG111v3

I am running windows 2000 on the pc and not sure how I can let windows deal with the wireless connection as network seems to only deal with wired connections or modems?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 24th, 2009, 06:53 AM
fihart's Avatar
fihart fihart is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,191
fihart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WG111v3

You may have been failing to save a profile in your wireless adapter's connection utility (basically this just stores the settings you've entered so that it doesn't keep asking you to set it up each time).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 26th, 2009, 09:05 AM
MikeMast MikeMast is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
MikeMast is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WG111v3

Thanks for that but no I have saved numerous profiles, it is just when I hit the apply button it loses the connection and will therefore not remember it when the computer is restarted. I have also noticed the settings for the adapter keep change in control panel it goes to ad-hoc when I have set it to infrastructure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:02 AM.