#1  
Old May 1st, 2010, 06:19 PM
djh djh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
djh is on a distinguished road
Default WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

My laptop will only connect to the WND3300 router in local only. I am running Windows Vista on a compaq laptop. I am able to connect to the internet with a neighbor's linksys router. Would appreciate any help and suggestions. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 1st, 2010, 07:33 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

make sure IPv6 is disabled.

also check PC wired the router and if you have any traffic.

http://vpncasestudy.com/download/pdf...networking.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 22nd, 2010, 05:09 PM
djh djh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
djh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

I checked the above with no luck. I would like to explain a little further the problem I am having:

One of my laptops will connect local only. I took the laptop today to a restaurant to see if it would connect to the internet there and it did connect successfully. So it appears the problem is with how this particular laptop connects with the router.

I have another laptop the connects fine with the router. Also Ipod Touch, Xbox and PS3 all connect fine.

I would appreciate any further advice. Thank you very much in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2010, 05:25 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

now try manual DNS on pc side

4.2.2.1
4.2.2.2

http://vpncasestudy.com/download/usefuldoc/dns_tips.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 23rd, 2010, 04:23 PM
djh djh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
djh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

I went into the Basic Settings in the Router Software and entered the numbers listed into the Primary and Secondary DNS. Still no luck though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 23rd, 2010, 04:43 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

Quote:
Originally Posted by djh View Post
I went into the Basic Settings in the Router Software and entered the numbers listed into the Primary and Secondary DNS. Still no luck though.
what did say prior post...

Quote:
now try manual DNS on pc side
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 25th, 2010, 02:47 PM
djh djh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
djh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

I'm not sure if I did it right but I went to the Control Panel and then Network Connections. Right clicked on Local Area Connection properties then selected Internet Protocols. Then entered the manual DNS 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2. then applied. Tried to connect the laptop with no success. Went back and set these back to automatic and tried the same thing with the 1394 connection. Same result.
I really appreciate your help but I may be fighting a losing battle.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 25th, 2010, 04:15 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

useless to touch 1394 (firewire) it will absolutely do nothing for you

use 4.2.2.2 again and test the ping

ping yahoo.com
ping 4.2.2.2

Last edited by Mars Mug; May 26th, 2010 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 26th, 2010, 04:36 PM
djh djh is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
djh is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

I set the manual DNS on the PC to 4.2.2.2.

From the PC I pinged 4.2.2.2 and yahoo.com and they both sent and received 4 packets.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 26th, 2010, 04:44 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WNDR3300 Will only connect in local only

if you are connected to your own router and above ping worked then internet should work

is this both wired and wireless to the router?

Last edited by Mars Mug; May 26th, 2010 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:19 AM.