#1  
Old May 4th, 2010, 04:06 AM
mato mato is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
mato is on a distinguished road
Default Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

Hi,

I currently have access to a single LAN port which gives me internet access. I want to connect a wireless router to the LAN port to distribute internet to multiple devices using both wireless and wired capabilities.

How do I go about doing this?

As the LAN is not mine I don't have access to the 'primary' router. Just want to do what I explained above without affecting the main LAN.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 4th, 2010, 05:49 AM
methuselah_'s Avatar
methuselah_ methuselah_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,071
methuselah_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

There are 2 ways to do this..

1. Treat the LAN port as a modem and connect your router to it. This is the easiest way to set it up but the problem with this set up is that your router will have dual NAT.

2. Disable the DHCP on the router and assign it an IP address of the same segment to the main router. Connect the LAN port (from the source router) to the LAN port of the router you are adding. AKA, configuring a router as an Access Point (im sorry i cant find a good article to walk your through settings this up).
__________________
"I make no claims to be an expert; I have got things wrong in the past and will again in the future." ~Mars Mug, Netgear Forums
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 4th, 2010, 06:00 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1080
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 4th, 2010, 07:24 AM
mato mato is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
mato is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

The settings of the 'primary' network are as follows:

Gateway: 134.219.140.1
My IP (when connecting laptop to primary network): 134.219.
DHCP Server: 134.219.185.81
Subnet Mask: 255.255.252.0

How do I choose a static IP for the router that won't conflict?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 4th, 2010, 07:28 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by mato View Post
The settings of the 'primary' network are as follows:

Gateway: 134.219.140.1
My IP (when connecting laptop to primary network): 134.219.
DHCP Server: 134.219.185.81
Subnet Mask: 255.255.252.0

How do I choose a static IP for the router that won't conflict?
Quote:
As the LAN is not mine I don't have access to the 'primary' router.
setup router as double NAT.

if you can not control the primary router much you can do. what you need it to as the owner of the router

given URL should shared with the owner of the router so that primary router can adjust for the DHCP range show in URL. to avoid IP conflicts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 4th, 2010, 07:34 AM
mato mato is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
mato is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
setup router as double NAT.
Is it not possible to do it the other way?

Quote:
given URL should shared with the owner of the router so that primary router can adjust for the DHCP range show in URL. to avoid IP conflicts
not entirely sure what you mean exactly - could you be a bit clearer for me?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 4th, 2010, 07:38 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by mato View Post
Is it not possible to do it the other way?



not entirely sure what you mean exactly - could you be a bit clearer for me?


http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1080

print this, consult your owner of the primary router


or... not good way for novice but setup the your router as an access point with this device IP not as same as existing private LAN network that primary router uses

with this, every time you want to change the setting you have to do extra work.

ex 192.168.0.x is primary router IP range than use 10.0.0.10 for your wireless router unit and setup as an access point
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 4th, 2010, 07:41 AM
methuselah_'s Avatar
methuselah_ methuselah_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,071
methuselah_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

Your network is subnetted. There might be some important network settings in your network that you dont want to mess up with. I'd ask for help from network administrators.
__________________
"I make no claims to be an expert; I have got things wrong in the past and will again in the future." ~Mars Mug, Netgear Forums
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 4th, 2010, 08:05 AM
mato mato is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
mato is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connecting a Wireless Router to a LAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by methuselah_ View Post
Your network is subnetted. There might be some important network settings in your network that you dont want to mess up with. I'd ask for help from network administrators.
Can I not set the static IP of my router to the one that my computer usually uses, then let the network's DHCP assign my computer a new one?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:44 PM.