#1  
Old June 27th, 2010, 11:40 PM
luckyluke luckyluke is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
luckyluke is on a distinguished road
Default WPM 824v3: Question on repeater function

Hello,

Until recently, I was using my WPN 824 as router, DHCP server and wireless provider, and was using the box of my ISP just as an ADSL modem.
This box was recently upgraded, and has all the features of my WPN, so I decided to just use the WPN as a wireless repeater, and strictly nothing else.

What I am observing is that, in addition to repeat the wireless network provided by the box of my ISP, the WPN continues to generate its own wireless network, which seems useless, I just need one wireless network ..?
Is there a way to prevent the WPN to have its own wireless network ?

Also, regarding the security options, should I have the same parameters as the one set for my ISP's wireless network ?
Currently, I set it to "none", because I am using WPA on my wireless network, and WPA is not allowed when I configure the WPN824 as a repeater.

Thanks for explaining.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 28th, 2010, 05:10 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WPM 824v3: Question on repeater function

both device must have WDS (wireless distribution system) which WPN824 has so you must find out if other devices has WDS or not before you attempt any setups
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 28th, 2010, 06:33 AM
luckyluke luckyluke is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
luckyluke is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPM 824v3: Question on repeater function

Thanks for your answer,
Yes, the other device supports WDS, I have friends that are using it that way and it does work for sure.
But this does not tell me why, when configured as a repeater, the WPN has its own wireless network, I was expecting it will just repeat the main network.

I have another problem, which is that WPA-PSK can not be used
when the WPN is used as a repeater, so the only remaining option is WEP, which is less secure, but well, if it is the only option ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 28th, 2010, 06:38 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WPM 824v3: Question on repeater function

Nothing you can do about encryption issues

WEP remains on repeat for most brand/models unless stated

Also new router uses WPS to connect router for accesspoint such as ex. Wndr3700 d whnde111
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 28th, 2010, 06:59 AM
luckyluke luckyluke is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
luckyluke is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN 824v3: Question on repeater function

This restriction is a little bit strange.
If I understand correctly what I read on some WEB sites dedicated to wireless, the problem with WDS and WPA is in fact the dynamic aspect of WPA keys, which can not be handled by WDS.
But it's also possible to use purely static WPA keys.

This is precisely what the wiki says on WDS "WPA using pre-shared keys is possible", so ...
But well, l am going to go back to WEP for now
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 28th, 2010, 07:04 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WPM 824v3: Question on repeater function

I did not it will not work either. I said some model does!

All WG series access point WILL

This router will NOT do WPA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:57 PM.