Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 9th, 2010, 08:23 AM
dmw570 dmw570 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
dmw570 is on a distinguished road
Default WNR1000 no internet connection

First time post to these forums so hope I am in the right place for the WNR1000. I am very familiar with a succession of Netgear products so am trying to assist relative remotely to set up their WNR1000. No problem connecting the PC to the device to configure wireless etc. but when it came to connecting the WAN port no luck at all. Now their ISP is Virgin cable in the UK and they have an ethernet cable coming from the existing Virgin device. If that is plugged directly into their PC the have the internet instantly. Their old Belkin equivalent seemed to work fine in that configuration so I am not sure where the problem lies. Within the smart wizard pages it asks if their internet connection requires a login ... first question ... am I right in assuming NO as their Virgin modem is doing that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 9th, 2010, 10:23 AM
network_support network_support is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India
Posts: 109
network_support is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR1000 no internet connection

For cable ISP, it do not require login and password. Please run the setup wizard and check what it says. Once the setup is completed properly, goto "Router Status" under "Maintenance" you will find IP Address "Internet Port". Check if you are connected to internet. Follow the link to setup the router:

http://kb.netgear.com/app/products/family/a_id/12457
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 9th, 2010, 11:18 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR1000 no internet connection

Cable modems need to be powered off then back on each time a new device is connected so that the MAC address of the new device will be recognised. Virgin Media modems do not require any significant time delay (some ISPs can take minutes to recognise a new MAC address).
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 10th, 2010, 08:24 AM
dmw570 dmw570 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 19
dmw570 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WNR1000 no internet connection

Thank you both for your advice. I am pleased to say everything is up and working now. Another convert from Belkin to Netgear.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:00 AM.