Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Adapters > 802.11b (11Mbps) Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 25th, 2010, 11:22 AM
lovinsports lovinsports is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
lovinsports is on a distinguished road
Default N300 (wnr2000)

I have the netgear N300 (WNR2000) wireless router and I keep randomly losing connection. It will go out for a couple seconds or up to 5 minutes. All I have connected is an XBOX 360 (the new S console) and my Dell laptop. Does anyone know how to get it to stop losing connection. XBOX Live supporrt could not find any problems with connection nor could my internet provider (Comcast). All issues lead back to the wireless router. I don't know what more info you guys need, but that is the best I can give you right now. Please help me figure this out.

It also doesn't matter if the xbox and laptop are running at the same time or by themselves. It still cuts out even with one of them running and the other off.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 25th, 2010, 11:26 AM
lovinsports lovinsports is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
lovinsports is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

also. I hooked up the 360 by ethernet and it still loses connection even when it's wired in.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 25th, 2010, 05:13 PM
lovinsports lovinsports is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
lovinsports is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

really. no help at all.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 3rd, 2010, 11:31 AM
modry modry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
modry is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

I have the netgear N300 (JWNR2000) and experience the similar problem. It loses connection frequently for a few seconds or for minutes - it starts happening almost immediately you are connected to the Internet. No matter if it's wifi or cable connection. I was connected directly to the router via 0.5 m cable. If I plug in the provider's cable directly to my laptop everything is fine, so the problem seems in the router. When connected directly and ping the google I get constant response but not with the router. Router didn't find any firmware upgrade and I also tried to set up a static IP address. Nothing worked.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 3rd, 2010, 03:44 PM
katrinabernardino's Avatar
katrinabernardino katrinabernardino is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 631
katrinabernardino is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

Try to lower down the MTU size of your router, possibly because of bandwidth issue.
__________________
kat

---------------------------------------------------

I'm wondering if I could help you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 3rd, 2010, 04:39 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,282
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

Quote:
XBOX Live supporrt could not find any problems with connection nor could my internet provider (Comcast). All issues lead back to the wireless router. I don't know what more info you guys need, but that is the best I can give you right now. Please help me figure this out.

It also doesn't matter if the xbox and laptop are running at the same time or by themselves. It still cuts out even with one of them running and the other off.
try disable SPI in the router settings
also what is the comcast modem you are using
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 12th, 2010, 05:55 PM
jfrog jfrog is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
jfrog is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

I've got the same router, same issue. What's an SPI and how is it disabled? What will that do?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 12th, 2010, 06:01 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,282
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

SPI under WAN setup
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/System_Packet_Interface
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 12th, 2010, 06:07 PM
jfrog jfrog is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
jfrog is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

never mind. I found how to disable it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 13th, 2010, 09:53 AM
jfrog jfrog is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 10
jfrog is on a distinguished road
Default Re: N300 (wnr2000)

I disabled the SPI and still had the same problem. I wonder if the OP has had any better luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:01 AM.