#1  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 07:19 AM
rbivins rbivins is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
rbivins is on a distinguished road
Post Bridge WNR834Bv2 with wge101

Hello,

I have a WNR834B and I want to bridge it with a wge101. The bridge connects to the ap, I think. But no client can ever access the internet. I have the wga+spk enabled on the ap, is the wge101 compatible with that? Do I have to downgrade my security to get the bridge to connect?

The wpa form on the bridge is different than on all of my other clients (wii, ps3, iPhone, iPod, 2 PC's). On the bridge, I have a page where I have to generate four pass keys from the pass phrase. I have no idea if that is actually working correctly.

Currently, both are in the same room. The bridge shows connected and 100% strength. But, no client connected to it has access to the internet. Also, using DHCP doesn't work, it times out every time. Does the bridge act as a DHCP server or does it simply pass the requests through to the AP? I have to set a static IP address in order to even connect to the bridge.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

--Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 02:51 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,357
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bridge WNR834Bv2 with wge101

just try with static IP on device side
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 03:06 PM
rbivins rbivins is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
rbivins is on a distinguished road
Post Re: Bridge WNR834Bv2 with wge101

I have already tried that. I have to use a static IP just to get access to the bridge in order to see the status page since DHCP isn't working. I can use a static IP to get the bridge to "connect" to the AP, but there is never any traffic through it to the internet.

I'm wondering if its the WPA that is failing somehow?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 03:16 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,357
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bridge WNR834Bv2 with wge101

and public DNS on static setup

4.2.2.1
4.2.2.2
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 04:49 PM
rbivins rbivins is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
rbivins is on a distinguished road
Post Re: Bridge WNR834Bv2 with wge101

I will give that a try. However, I haven't even been able ping the ap from a client after getting the bridge to show connected on the status page.

Any other ideas? What about my inquiry about the wpa settings?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 22nd, 2010, 05:27 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,357
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bridge WNR834Bv2 with wge101

you can try wpa2 . you are not repeating so it should connect

try 54Mbps / B&G mode in the router settings
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 26th, 2010, 09:47 AM
rbivins rbivins is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
rbivins is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Bridge WNR834Bv2 with wge101

I went ahead and downgraded to wep. This works, but the connections seem more unstable for all of my devices. That was always one of the knocks of wep, anyway. But, at least now it is working. Maybe I'll try plain old wpa next?

Not really motivated to change the encryption on all nine devices again, though. Maybe another time!

Thanks for all your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:25 AM.