#11  
Old December 24th, 2006, 06:56 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,554
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

I believe your modem is also a router, accessed at IP address 192.168.1.1, the same address as the Netgear router, which causes IP conflicts.

It is possible to change the address range of the Netgear to get it to work with the Westell but this will leave you with double NAT which may cause problems later.

The better option is to put the Westell into Bridged Mode, and then it operates just as a modem, causing no conflicts with the Netgear router.

Alternatively you can setup the Netgear as an access point like this;

http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101496.asp

Whatever you do, until you resolve the IP conflict you cannot successfully connect the Netgear router to the modem. So to access the Netgear setup just connect the PC to the Netgear only, without the modem connected. That applies to those access point instructions above also.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 20th, 2007, 08:53 AM
djcteknn djcteknn is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
djcteknn is on a distinguished road
Talking Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

I ran into all the same problems when I moved and lost the cd to my router, wgr614, I have Comcast with VOIP High Speed Internet. I figured out that you need to Reset the router by holding the reset button with tip of pen (back of router)for 20seconds, disconnect power from both modem and router for 20 sec. and reconnect. This should launch Router Install Wizard at www.routerlogin.net or 192.161.1.1...hope this helps, I was about to junk it and by a newer router.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 28th, 2010, 12:55 PM
CasperBladr CasperBladr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
CasperBladr is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

Is it difficult to set up the router after reset?

I really want to open a server-port for a game (minecraft) and i have forgotten the password..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 27th, 2011, 09:23 PM
srijith srijith is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
srijith is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

I had the same problem. 198.162.1.1 or 0.1 nothing worked for me. Later i made a hard reset by pressing and holding reset button for 15 seconds.

Later I am able to login using 192.168.1.1

Its easy to configure a router once you have done a reset.

I am trying to enable debug mode so that I can telnet the router.

I tried http://192.168.1.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug and 0.1 but nothing worked.
I am using a NETGEAR WGR 614v10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:04 AM.