Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 3rd, 2011, 11:18 PM
boomhower boomhower is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
boomhower is on a distinguished road
Default Can't connect WPS device.

I'm going crazy and am ready to pack this thing up and send it back to Amazon. I used a WRT610N for what seems like forever and it finally bit the dust. So I ordered this guy from amazon, it's a V2. I have two Netgear WNHDE111 5Ghz bridges/access points. I use one in my living room to stream video from my server and the other one in the bedroom for an Xbox 360. For the last six months ago they have worked perfect, absolutely loved the set-up. The 3700 won't connect to them at all. I thought WPS was simple? I've tried both and can't get them to connect. I reset the router to stock config with no changes and nothing. I've power cycled and reset until I am about to go insane. Any thoughts or ideas are welcomed. I want to like this router, I really do. I just can't figure out why it won't connect to these darn things. My next day off is Monday, if I can't get it working by then it's going back and I'll just get an E3000.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 4th, 2011, 05:53 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,066
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't connect WPS device.

should be simply as below
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/de...%20wps%20setup

I'm sure this is how you get setup.

make sure the distance between the route and AP is not too far. 5Ghz is less range than 2.4Ghz so you need to experiement that
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 10th, 2011, 09:16 AM
perezlg1382 perezlg1382 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
perezlg1382 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't connect WPS device.

By the way that doesnt work. Ive tried that also.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 10th, 2011, 09:46 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,066
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't connect WPS device.

wps or distance?
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 12th, 2011, 05:48 AM
madhatter madhatter is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 521
madhatter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't connect WPS device.

If you have hidden the ssid, then wps may not work. Unhide the ssid, connect via wps, then hide the ssid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 13th, 2011, 04:51 PM
boomhower boomhower is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
boomhower is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can't connect WPS device.

Crap, I forgot about this thread. I did finally get it to work. What finally worked for me was plugging the bridge in directly into the router and then doing WPS. That finally worked. As an aside, I started getting stuttering in streaming 1080P content that worked on my old WRT610N so I picked up an E4200 to compare. The E4200 picked up the bridge the first try. You would think two netgear products would work better together. Oh, and the E4200 ended up being far and away better, certainly worth the extra $20.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:45 PM.