#1  
Old February 7th, 2009, 06:53 AM
Noggy Noggy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Noggy is on a distinguished road
Default Router login

Cant find the right place to ask this so ill just type here.

Just installed my Netgear modem and i cant get access to Google.
Everytime i try the Routerlogin popps up.
I had google as starting page but the adress changes to http://www.google.se/setup.cgi?next_file=start.htm and im prompt to enter login name and password. Even if i just typ www.google.com manually this happens.
So is there a way to change this so i can use google again ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 7th, 2009, 08:54 AM
CedarCreekGuy CedarCreekGuy is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 64
CedarCreekGuy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Router login

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noggy View Post
Cant find the right place to ask this so ill just type here.

Just installed my Netgear modem and i cant get access to Google.
Everytime i try the Routerlogin popps up.
I had google as starting page but the adress changes to http://www.google.se/setup.cgi?next_file=start.htm and im prompt to enter login name and password. Even if i just typ www.google.com manually this happens.
So is there a way to change this so i can use google again ?
I've seen this happen when you don't use the Wizard to complete your installation and instead do it manually. The router is intercepting it and taking you to its setup to make you finish your configuration. Try resetting the modem to its factory default and using the Wizard to re-install.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 6th, 2011, 04:54 AM
Gazman87 Gazman87 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Gazman87 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Router login

I know this is some serious grave digging but I had this problem and solved it by clearing everything under the Tools - Delete Browsing History menu in Internet Explorer 8.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 06:53 PM
louise898 louise898 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
louise898 is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Router login

Hello all!

I also just had this exact same problem. I also had Google as my homepage; after installing a Netgear DG834 Router I could no longer access Google at all.

Turned out the problem arose because immediately after installing the router I clicked to open my web browser as per usual.

However I since discovered Netgear must to go first to their own page (www.routerlogin.com), I guess as part of the installation process.

Unfortunately, by clicking on my web browser link (Firefox) instead, my PC tried to find my homepage (Google), which then became overwritten with the Netgear address (http://www.routerlogin.com/) instead. Thereafter every time I tried to open Google I kept getting the Netgear page instead!

Finally resolved it by re-running the installation CD, and after that installation I first clicked on http://www.routerlogin.com/, and then opened my web browser normally. Has been fine since!

Hope this helps!

Louise
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:36 AM.