#1  
Old June 1st, 2011, 08:57 PM
assistserv assistserv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
assistserv is on a distinguished road
Default How to enable MAC with Radius wndap350

Hi

I have a WNDAP350 that I am trying to integrate into our wireless network.

Our wireless uses mac authentication with a Radius server with no encryption at all.

I just want the 350 to validate the mac against at Radius and nothing else.

Is this possible with this product?

If so, how?

I have tested that I use the right shared secret key.

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 2nd, 2011, 05:01 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to enable MAC with Radius wndap350

did you download the manual?

ACL (access list) , mac address list on wifi is pretty much bottom line on even home end so if you are expecting to have setting to type those mac address on wndap then it should have that option while rest of authentication can be done via radius server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 2nd, 2011, 12:05 PM
assistserv assistserv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
assistserv is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to enable MAC with Radius wndap350

Thank you for your rapid response.

Yes, I have downloaded the manual; the manual is not setup in such a fashion to tell me what I am asking about.

We do not utilize ACLs.

Our setup is simple; inputted into the RADIUS are the various MACs of the clients; this list is sent out to all APs on our wireless network, to allow or deny access to the wireless.

I just need to know if this device (WNDAP350) is capable of operating in this fashion; if it is, I would greatly appreciate someone informing me of how to accomplish this.

If this device cannot do this, then it cannot integrate into our current wireless network and is therefore not usable.

I cannot divine this answer with the resources at my disposal, hence I am asking here.

Thank you for your attention(s).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 2nd, 2011, 12:31 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How to enable MAC with Radius wndap350

If you are controlling mac address in radius server then as long AP can use radius then should not presents any issues
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 2nd, 2011, 01:12 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,508
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to enable MAC with Radius wndap350

I believe the point that June was making, and I share his concern, was that MAC address control, regardless of how it is done provides minimal security.

Were I in the vicinity of your network, I could connect to it, in less time than it takes you to read this post - it also provides no protection from eavesdropping - if you're going to go to the trouble of implementating a RADIUS server, there are better, more secure ways to protect your wireless LAN.
__________________
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:30 PM.