#1  
Old April 29th, 2012, 10:45 AM
Vee_in_TO Vee_in_TO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Vee_in_TO is on a distinguished road
Default How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

I had two Hitachi Deskstar 120Gb drives. They were getting full and so I wanted to upgrade. I bought two Barracuda ST3500630A drives. They do not work despite previous report that it does.

I get the constant green blinking lights and cannot set up the drives (using Vista - Home Premium SP2 and Linksys WRT150N). Only thing that changed is the hard drives. So I know that is the issue.

QUESTION IS :-
How do I tell which is an ATA 6 or ATA 5 or other drives?

Vee in TO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 29th, 2012, 11:05 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148135
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 29th, 2012, 01:28 PM
Vee_in_TO Vee_in_TO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Vee_in_TO is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Hmmm... so why is the green light blinking constantly? Both drives are on "cable select".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 30th, 2012, 12:11 AM
Jackô's Avatar
Jackô Jackô is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: localhost, DNS city, @.org
Posts: 2,991
Jackô is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/196
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 30th, 2012, 09:53 AM
Vee_in_TO Vee_in_TO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Vee_in_TO is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackô View Post
Yes, We made a clean loop back to my original post. I have constant blinking of the green light. Meaning the HDDs are not compatible. I thought they might be ATA 5 but the Newegg link above confirms they are ATA 6 drives. They have been used before and work although there are some other posts like mine that say they don't. I have tried installing and uninstalling the SCM to no avail. I have tried disabling the Firewall, adding exceptions to the firewall.

And I have tried the same on an XP Pro laptop as well. To no progress.

Vee_in_TO
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 30th, 2012, 11:48 AM
Jackô's Avatar
Jackô Jackô is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: localhost, DNS city, @.org
Posts: 2,991
Jackô is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

Constant blinking of green LED has nothing to do with SC101 drivers, firewalls or OS.
It tells you the HD is not compatible. As you can see in the long list of compatible drives and non-compatible ones, sometimes one HD of a certain make, size and model is compatible while another one of same make and size, but with a slight different model number is not.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 30th, 2012, 04:39 PM
Vee_in_TO Vee_in_TO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Vee_in_TO is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

So this is all just crap shoot. I have to buy and test drives. Because a drive from the compatible list http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/211 could also not work! The list does not go into model #s. So who knows what model number was used to create the list?

I think it is time to toast the toaster!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 1st, 2012, 01:23 AM
Jackô's Avatar
Jackô Jackô is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: localhost, DNS city, @.org
Posts: 2,991
Jackô is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you know which drives are ATA6 or ATA5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vee_in_TO View Post
I have to buy and test drives.
If you insist on continuing working with a SC101, then that's indeed necessary, if you can't find a drive which exact model number has been posted as being compatible.
Quote:
Because a drive from the compatible list http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/211 could also not work! The list does not go into model #s. So who knows what model number was used to create the list?
Note that this list is from 2005 and 500GB drives were still an exeption! Hardly relevant in 2012, don't you think?
Quote:
I think it is time to toast the toaster!
You got the notion.....(P.S. Did you notice the device is EOL for years??)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:55 AM.