Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers > DGND3700 Discussion Forums

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 6th, 2012, 10:39 AM
speedcheese speedcheese is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
speedcheese is on a distinguished road
Default DGND3700 with Apple Airport Extreme in Bridge Mode - no LAN access ?

I have an Apple Airport Extreme Base Stations (AEBS) connected to my primary Router (Netgear DGND3700). This, in turn, is connected to a cable modem. So the setup is:

Internet > Cable Modem > DGND3700 > AEBS

The cable modem is literally just that - acts as the gateway out to the internet.

The Netgear router acts as the DHCP server to the network and the AEBS connects one of the LAN ports of the Netgear to the WAN port of the AEBS. The AEBS is set up as Ethernet in Bridge Mode.

If I connect to the AEBS either wired or wifi, I can see all other devices connected to the AEBS on the network and if I click on any, I can browse shared folders etc. If I connect to the Netgear router I cannot ping, traceroute or connect to any AEBS devices. I suspect it's something to do with internal routing but I can't find a setting on either device where this may being blocked.

Anyone got any suggestions what I'm missing or what I might try ?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 6th, 2012, 02:32 PM
Scubbie's Avatar
Scubbie Scubbie is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,109
Scubbie is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGND3700 with Apple Airport Extreme in Bridge Mode - no LAN access ?

The Airport Extreme is a router in it's own right. If you have connected it via it's own WAN port, then this is why you cannot access anything on the AE when connected via the DGND3700.

I would suggest that you connect the AE via an Ethernet port and ensure that you have disabled it's own DHCP Server abilities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 6th, 2012, 04:28 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,057
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: DGND3700 with Apple Airport Extreme in Bridge Mode - no LAN access ?

This is the concept you need to follow

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965


wether you are suing Mac or PC, there is airport utility under

Finder>application>utilities> airport utility (Mac system). I'm sure for Pc are simple as open the application

you need to change according like the URL given for "concept.

Airport extreme as internet port and Lan ports. they do not have "word" saying but just by symbol so you may need to look manual that came with it but do NOT use WAN or internet port .
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 PM.