#1  
Old May 6th, 2012, 07:36 AM
lippy lippy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
lippy is on a distinguished road
Default FVS318N Canít Port Forward

Okay. Iím throwing the uncle card.

I canít get the FVS318N to port forward. Iím trying to forward port 1723 (PPtP) for VPN into our server. I get out, I hit the server, but it is being blocked on the return by the FVS318N. A port scan shows the same. I can change the port from ďStealthĒ to ďClosedĒ, when I port scan and canít get any further.

Client (Dell D830; XP, Static IP) --> Switch (HP 1810G) --> FVS318N --> Modem (Motorola SB5101) --> IP Provider (DHCP; no ports blocked)

1. Security > Services > Custom Service Table: create custom TCP service for PPtP on port 1723

2. Security > Firewall > LAN WAN Rules: Create custom Inbound Service Rule.

- Tried both the preconfigured PPtP service in the FVS318N and the manually created custom service;
- Tried both the static IP client address and the router address in the "Send to LAN Server";
- The LAN device addresses have been reconfigured to 192.168.124.1 +;
- Tried bypassing the switch, with direct Ethernet into the FVS318N (rule out the hop from the switch);
- The Client has Zone Alarm as anti-virus with firewall. Tried to open a port in the firewall; likewise, shutdown Zone Alarm (rule out the AV/Firewall software);
- Tried a port scan from another client running Vista with the same results (rule out the AV/Firewall software and O.S. and machine);

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 6th, 2012, 08:01 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

Why use pptp, You should consider using SSL-VPN
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 6th, 2012, 05:41 PM
adit's Avatar
adit adit is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,377
adit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

Does the FVS have a public IP on it's WAN?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 7th, 2012, 06:30 PM
lippy lippy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
lippy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

Quote:
Originally Posted by adit View Post
Does the FVS have a public IP on it's WAN?
Adit, thanks for replying.

Iím *assuming* ďpublic IP on WANĒ refers to the Inbound Service field (WAN Destination to IP Address)?

And Iím also assuming that should be populated by the IP Providerís IP address that can be found here:
Network Configuration >> Broadband ISP Settings >> Broadband Status ?

or the server's IP address that's trying to get in?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 7th, 2012, 08:19 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

Quote:
Iím *assuming* ďpublic IP on WANĒ refers to the Inbound Service field (WAN Destination to IP Address)
inbound is for the remote WAN IP that is coming from

actual WAN of the router ... I think you have since 5120 is just a basic cable modem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 10th, 2012, 03:28 PM
lippy lippy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
lippy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
inbound is for the remote WAN IP that is coming from

actual WAN of the router ... I think you have since 5120 is just a basic cable modem
June, Thanks for replying.

So for the the Inbound Service rule, in the WAN Destination IP Address, this should be set to the "Broadband"? Or the IP Address of the FVS318N?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 10th, 2012, 03:35 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

Quote:
Originally Posted by lippy View Post
June, Thanks for replying.

So for the the Inbound Service rule, in the WAN Destination IP Address, this should be set to the "Broadband"? Or the IP Address of the FVS318N?
REMOTE public IP that is coming from.

NOT broadband or FVS.

REMOTE... OTHER than your local network IP.. if you are doing from HOME, you need HOME PUBLIC IP.. = if you don't have static IP with your ISP then you can not use it respectively since IP can change depending on ISP at home.


WAN destination is feature to secure the IP (REMOTE) so that ONLY remote IP can use this ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 18th, 2012, 06:47 PM
lippy lippy is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
lippy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

June, thanks for the answer, and I understand.

I want to backup to a more basic level: Port Forwarding.

I followed the instructions posted here:
http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/N101145.asp
with the second set of instructions (FVS318v3); that set of instructions is closer than the others.

I created a inbound rule from the standard rules for FTP (port 21). In the 'Send to LAN' I have put the IP address of my static-IP client (192.168.124.175).

When I perform a port scan through ShiedsUP!, I can see the port change from 'Stealth' to 'Closed'. I can never get it to 'Open'.

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 18th, 2012, 11:11 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

some ISP blocks common ports like ftp so make sure you check it out
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 21st, 2013, 12:06 PM
TGlagowski TGlagowski is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ashford, CT
Posts: 7
TGlagowski is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FVS318N Canít Port Forward

I too am having the same problem...
I upgraded from an FVS-318 (non wireless, circa 2003) to an FVS-318N (brand new) and setup the port forwarding.
ShieldsUp web site shows port 80 OPEN.
The server to which I am forwarding the port (manual config LAN IP) is not processing the message...
Previously, the same server, same server address, same ISP, was working with the old FVS-318 router with the HTTP service configured.
I must be missing some little thing in how to configure the FVS-318N.
Yes, I am sure the ISP does not block the port 80 packet.
Yes, the server machine is correctly configured.
Terry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:41 PM.