Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 25th, 2013, 10:29 PM
boogsau boogsau is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 6
boogsau is on a distinguished road
Default Internet orange light on router

Hi,

Today my internet went down completely without warning. At first I thought it was an issue with the ISP and called them and there is no fault with my cable modem (Motorola SURFboard SB5101) or with my connection. If I connect the modem directly into a PC the internet works.

If I connect the modem via ethernet to the WNDR4500 router, the orange light comes on for the internet. I have tried restarting the modem + router and resetting to default settings. This router is just over a year old was expensive, so needless to say, I'm annoyed that there is a fault with it for no apparent reason.

Please advise on any potential fixes for this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 25th, 2013, 11:39 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

Are you able to log into the router's configuration?

Are you getting a public IP on the WAN?

Are you getting a 1000M/Full connection on the WAN and also on LAN1?
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 26th, 2013, 12:53 AM
boogsau boogsau is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 6
boogsau is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devor View Post
Are you able to log into the router's configuration?
Yes, I can log into the router's configuration. I did a reset to factory settings this way.

It is now EXTREMELY slow when connecting from my family PC. Connecting from my laptop over Wifi it is slow, but manageable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devor View Post
Are you getting a public IP on the WAN?
0.0.0.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devor View Post
Are you getting a 1000M/Full connection on the WAN and also on LAN1?
I can view files and folders over the network.
I tried viewing videos from my gaming PC to other computers:

Gaming PC (via cat5) -> router -> wifi -> my laptop - videos played fine
Gaming PC (via cat5) -> router -> family PC - Videos and files did not open and it took forever to browse folders
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2013, 04:54 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,263
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

Have you isolated family Pc from your network?

try , then reboot modem, router and see if that solves problem
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 26th, 2013, 06:34 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,317
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

1. turn off the cable modem and unplug ethernet cable
2. wait for few min (20min)
3. turn on the cable modem only and do NOT plug any ethernet cable
4. wait until all the light up on cable modem
5. ONLY after all the light is up. hook up a router behind the cable modem
6. you should able to get public IP from the ISP and it will show up in the router status when you login the router.


** remove the BATTERY from the cable modem if built-in and follow from #1~
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 26th, 2013, 05:48 PM
boogsau boogsau is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 6
boogsau is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
1. turn off the cable modem and unplug ethernet cable
2. wait for few min (20min)
3. turn on the cable modem only and do NOT plug any ethernet cable
4. wait until all the light up on cable modem
5. ONLY after all the light is up. hook up a router behind the cable modem
6. you should able to get public IP from the ISP and it will show up in the router status when you login the router.


** remove the BATTERY from the cable modem if built-in and follow from #1~
I followed this procedure and disconnected everything else from the router.

Both the power and the internet light come on as orange, then the wireless lights come on, then the power light eventually goes green but the internet light stays orange. Is there a problem with the router?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 26th, 2013, 07:24 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,317
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

you need to look router status and what you are getting
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 26th, 2013, 11:14 PM
Devor's Avatar
Devor Devor is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ffynnon Garw
Posts: 1,997
Devor is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

Ideally you want to see this in your router statistics:



The above image shows a 1000M/Full path from the modem, through the router and to LAN 1. However, I suspect with a WAN IP of 0.0.0.0 that won't be the case.
__________________
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA)
Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1050:08:34:23

--
How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware:
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 27th, 2013, 05:23 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 3,263
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

Quote:
Originally Posted by boogsau View Post
If I connect the modem directly into a PC the internet works.

Based on this statement try spoofing the MAC address.

Enter the above PC's MAC address in the router's Internet Setup__Routers MAC Address___ and check use this MAC.

Try removing WAN cable and re-inserting it. At times just reestablishing a connection to a cable modem has renewed IP lease without have to reboot modem.

Some ISP's only authorize one MAC the MAC which was used to setup the account. They might of done some back office house cleaning, worth a try.

Last edited by Mars Mug; March 27th, 2013 at 02:27 PM. Reason: Fixed the quote
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 27th, 2013, 04:04 PM
boogsau boogsau is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 6
boogsau is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Internet orange light on router

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
you need to look router status and what you are getting
Thanks everyone for your help. I went to do this and it worked again for 24 hours (on and off). Now the internet light does not come up at all except for half a second or so when booting up the router. I'm still able to use the internet (I am now) if I connect the modem directly to the family PC.

This is what I get in the internet settings option.
MAC Address 74:44:01:4A:A2:39
IP Address 0.0.0.0
Connection DHCP
IP Subnet Mask 0.0.0.0
Domain Name Server 0.0.0.0

In the basic mode it tells me this:
No Ethernet Cable Is Plugged into the Router Internet Port - I can assure everyone that this is the first thing I checked


Quote:
Originally Posted by searay View Post
Based on this statement try spoofing the MAC address.
Thanks for the tip, I'm not quite sure what you mean by this though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:22 AM.