Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 15th, 2013, 05:31 PM
ron351's Avatar
ron351 ron351 is offline
Junior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
ron351 is on a distinguished road
Default Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

The U-Verse AT&T provides does not have a guest access for wireless. So I am thinking of connecting my Netgear WNDR3700 to the U-Verse Modem.
The U-Verse modem is also a router with wireless.
Has anyone got any suggestions how to do this?
I have read elsewhere that I will need to disable the wireless in the AT&T U-Verse modem which is easy.
Just looking for the correct way to add the Netgear to this U-verse modem/router that won't give me any problems.
I appreciate the help, and did search before posting a question.
Thanks,
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 16th, 2013, 08:10 AM
ron351's Avatar
ron351 ron351 is offline
Junior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
ron351 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

No one have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 16th, 2013, 08:49 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

You know you posted wrong place for 3700

http://forum1.netgear.com/forumdisplay.php?f=105
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 16th, 2013, 08:51 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

You can't bridge u verse so you are sol on that . You can't use guest well when 3700 is in AP mode, I do think
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 16th, 2013, 10:57 AM
ron351's Avatar
ron351 ron351 is offline
Junior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
ron351 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Sorry, thought gateway router area was the place to post, will have to look for the other areas.
I also know the U-verse can't be bridged, what I was reading in other places was that you can disable wireless in the U-verse modem and plug a router into the U-verse and use that added router.
At the very bottom of this page is what I was going to try
http://www.sbbala.com/uverse/index.html

I was just looking here to see if any one else had tried hooking up a router to this before I tried.
Guess I will just try it and see what goes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 16th, 2013, 11:12 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Been not able to bridge , you may just end up double NAT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 16th, 2013, 02:07 PM
ron351's Avatar
ron351 ron351 is offline
Junior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
ron351 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Been not able to bridge , you may just end up double NAT
Thanks, after I try and mess with it, I will post any results so others can benefit from it if they try to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 3rd, 2013, 08:24 PM
takhart takhart is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
takhart is on a distinguished road
Cool Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

That's twice I have been kicked out and returned to this empty box. If you want to know how to make things work call AT&T support. It is a simple set of steps if you know what you are doing. I tried to list the steps but the site deleted the information, 2X. bye.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 3rd, 2013, 08:47 PM
takhart takhart is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
takhart is on a distinguished road
Cool Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Here goes a third try very short timeouts...
aDSL (U-verse) input to AT&T mdm/rtr.
outputs are
Wifi 2.4 GHz low band only.
Ethernet ports usually U-verse installed/changes by U-verse tek.
1. Whole house DVR unit
2. Unit powered antennae assy
3. output Ethernet cable to WNDR3700 (N600 assy)
4. spare

3700 input from above
outputs WIFI
1. 2.4 GHz low band [use for slow devices like Wifi Printers/ e Printers (usu. HP)]
2. 5 GHz Hi band [use for iPODs, iPhones, iPAD, galaxy Notes, etc.
Ethernet ports on back]
1. PC [ this makes the PC a wired connection to the aDSL cable via a modem.]
2. Hard Drives for personal cloud drives like WD My Book Live 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, or 10 TB HDD
3. spare or see #2
4. spare or see #2

Works for my systems...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 3rd, 2013, 08:48 PM
ron351's Avatar
ron351 ron351 is offline
Junior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
ron351 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Quote:
Originally Posted by takhart View Post
That's twice I have been kicked out and returned to this empty box. If you want to know how to make things work call AT&T support. It is a simple set of steps if you know what you are doing. I tried to list the steps but the site deleted the information, 2X. bye.
Sorry to hear you got kicked 2x takhart.
Actually ATT Modem don't have bridge, but it has passthrough.
Passthrough is the same thing, and it works just fine.
Ports are opened and remote viewing of security cameras work.
ATT Support is actually not good. I rather figure it out then go through them, their answer is usually $$$.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:00 PM.