#1  
Old December 27th, 2013, 11:25 AM
JeremyInMT JeremyInMT is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
JeremyInMT is on a distinguished road
Default bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

I had a samsung galaxy S3 that would connect to this router at 72Mbps on 2.4Ghz and 150Mbps on 5Ghz when in the same room as the router. Now I have a Samsung Galaxy S4 and it won't connect at anything over 54Mbps on 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz. At work on different wireless routers it gets 72Mbps on 2.4 and at Target on their free wireless I got 121Mbps. Has anyone else had issues with their Samsung Galaxy S4 and this router?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 27th, 2013, 12:45 PM
shadowsports's Avatar
shadowsports shadowsports is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NorCal
Posts: 223
shadowsports is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

Jeremy,
All hardware is different. The hardware, settings and drivers used on one device my not work optimally in every environment. Seems you have discovered this. You may need to make changes to the broadcast channel and type of encryption being used on the 2.4 or 5Ghz network to see performance improves. This may require some experimentation and patience before the optimal settings are discovered.

There is no guarantee your performance will improve, but this is where you would start. Firmware or OS updates on the phone, as well as the router should also be considered.
__________________
1 x R7000 f/w 1.0.3.68_1.1.31
1 x WNDR4500 v1 f/w 1.0.1.38
1 x WNDR4500 v1 f/w 1.0.1.40
1 x WNDR4500 v2 f/w 1.0.0.42
Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 (BIOS 3603), i7-2600k@3.5
16GB Corsair Vengeance @1600+, Corsair TX850w
EVGA GTX660 FTW SIG2, Case: HAF 922
2x Corsair Force III 120's RAID0 (boot)
1 x Seagate 1T 6GB (data), Win7x64 Ult.
*Surface Pro2 128
NAS
#1 QNAP TS-219P-II 4TB WD RED - f/w 4.0.2
Back Up for NAS1-4TB My Book
#2 D-Link 323 4TB
Phone
HTC One M8

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 27th, 2013, 01:16 PM
JeremyInMT JeremyInMT is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
JeremyInMT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

My GS4 is fully updated. The firmware in the wndr4500 is fully updated. The GS4 had problems with d-link routers several months ago and I'm wondering if the same is true for my wndr4500. I have tried the channels on 5Ghz and none of them will go higher than 54Mbps as connected to my phone. I have a desktop computer that has more obstacles to go through and connects at the full 450Mbps and can transfer at my max internet speeds (77/77). I've done enough fiddling around and wanted to know if anyone else had this or a similar experience.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 27th, 2013, 01:22 PM
JeremyInMT JeremyInMT is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
JeremyInMT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

Also, no way I'm reducing encryption from WPA2/AES. Not going to happen and it's not a very good suggestion to be blunt.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 27th, 2013, 03:03 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

Curiosity to say have you try disable WMM under QoS and see if that makes changes? That may effect on pc that can go 450Mbps but worth testing the results
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 28th, 2013, 03:51 AM
shadowsports's Avatar
shadowsports shadowsports is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NorCal
Posts: 223
shadowsports is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

Some still use WEP believe it or not, which can hinder performance with some hardware. Glad you aren't one of them... just to be blunt.
__________________
1 x R7000 f/w 1.0.3.68_1.1.31
1 x WNDR4500 v1 f/w 1.0.1.38
1 x WNDR4500 v1 f/w 1.0.1.40
1 x WNDR4500 v2 f/w 1.0.0.42
Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 (BIOS 3603), i7-2600k@3.5
16GB Corsair Vengeance @1600+, Corsair TX850w
EVGA GTX660 FTW SIG2, Case: HAF 922
2x Corsair Force III 120's RAID0 (boot)
1 x Seagate 1T 6GB (data), Win7x64 Ult.
*Surface Pro2 128
NAS
#1 QNAP TS-219P-II 4TB WD RED - f/w 4.0.2
Back Up for NAS1-4TB My Book
#2 D-Link 323 4TB
Phone
HTC One M8

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 28th, 2013, 08:10 PM
JeremyInMT JeremyInMT is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
JeremyInMT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Curiosity to say have you try disable WMM under QoS and see if that makes changes? That may effect on pc that can go 450Mbps but worth testing the results
I've enabled and disabled those settings to no avail. Like I said, my GS3 had NO issue at all for months. I actually replaced the GS4 on Thursday afternoon and now the connection is always a solid 54Mbps on 2.4 and 5.0, but that's a far cry from what the GS3 did (2.4Ghz @ 72Mbps, 5.0Ghz @ 150Mbps). All this is in the same room as the router.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowsports View Post
Some still use WEP believe it or not, which can hinder performance with some hardware. Glad you aren't one of them... just to be blunt.
Sorry if I came off as a jerk. Long day. Frustrated. You were trying to be helpful and I was....not.

D-link actually came out with a firmware patch for a few of their routers for a very similar problem. The reason any of this matters is that the dropoff curve, from 54 gets a little nasty at the other end of the house. The signal from 2.4 at the other end of my house was around 36Mbps and now it's like 9Mbps and with wireless being half-duplex, that sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 29th, 2013, 02:34 PM
shadowsports's Avatar
shadowsports shadowsports is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NorCal
Posts: 223
shadowsports is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

Jeremy,
No worries. Seems there are a few people discussing this issue on the xda forums and around the web. Easiest solution was to reboot the phone.

Others mentioned changing the broadcast channels (try something other that Auto) and/or temporarily trying TKIP for troubleshooting purposes. While this could limit other devices in your home, you need to be willing to try other settings to troubleshoot the problem. Heck, I'd test with no security/encryption (open system) just to see if there's a change.
__________________
1 x R7000 f/w 1.0.3.68_1.1.31
1 x WNDR4500 v1 f/w 1.0.1.38
1 x WNDR4500 v1 f/w 1.0.1.40
1 x WNDR4500 v2 f/w 1.0.0.42
Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3 (BIOS 3603), i7-2600k@3.5
16GB Corsair Vengeance @1600+, Corsair TX850w
EVGA GTX660 FTW SIG2, Case: HAF 922
2x Corsair Force III 120's RAID0 (boot)
1 x Seagate 1T 6GB (data), Win7x64 Ult.
*Surface Pro2 128
NAS
#1 QNAP TS-219P-II 4TB WD RED - f/w 4.0.2
Back Up for NAS1-4TB My Book
#2 D-Link 323 4TB
Phone
HTC One M8

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 30th, 2013, 07:17 AM
JeremyInMT JeremyInMT is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
JeremyInMT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

I guess I probably could at least test those modes. I have changed channels and found 48 to give me the best on 5Ghz, but it's like the handshake at the beginning limits connections to a best of 54Mbps, no matter what I do with this router. Also I have rebooted the phone several times.

Last edited by Mars Mug; December 30th, 2013 at 02:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 1st, 2014, 09:53 AM
JeremyInMT JeremyInMT is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
JeremyInMT is on a distinguished road
Default Re: bad connection with Samsung Galaxy s4

My current solution:
Install ww-drt as found here. I can now connect my phone @ 150Mbps again. The reason I tried this is that I bought a Linksys AC1200 router to test and it connected at 351Mbps on 5Ghz so I knew my phone was capable. I'll take the router back and just use kong's ww-drt. My signal is stronger throughout my house than ever and my upload speed test for my wired LAN is much better now too as a side effect of the ww-drt. Netgear needs to get a clue that their firmware is not up to par for new devices apparently. They recently updated the firmware too, so it's not like they don't update it any more.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:05 AM.