#1  
Old October 2nd, 2007, 12:27 AM
coastal89 coastal89 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
coastal89 is on a distinguished road
Red face How do I set up a second router?

I have wireless networking but with my ISP we're at our max on how many systems we can have hooked up to the modem. We want to hook up our XBox 360 but it seems directly to a router would be the only way. So I purchased a Netgear router but don't know how to set it up. I have a long ethernet cable running from the Netgear router to my modem and I want the 360 hooked up directly to the Netgear. Do I still have to use the CD that came with the Netgear to install this? I'm afraid that might mess up my modem. Not sure how to do this. Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 2nd, 2007, 05:58 AM
Netgear1-9A-Z's Avatar
Netgear1-9A-Z Netgear1-9A-Z is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,875
Netgear1-9A-Z is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do I set up a second router?

Welcome to the forum.

Please list the model number of the modem and router.

Sounds like your modem is also a router. So you can either bridge the modem or use the Netgear router as a switch.
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=3300
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 2nd, 2007, 07:20 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: How do I set up a second router?

here some too.. have some graphics to teach you some

http://kbserver.netgear.com/inquira/...46#__highlight
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:46 PM.