#1  
Old October 17th, 2007, 02:53 AM
superstray superstray is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
superstray is on a distinguished road
Default Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

After a power outtage yesterday, my Sc101t died. I tried to extract the data with Sfsextract, and i get a corrupt superblock error message. I know several of you have had this error before, since i found many posts relating to the problem None of the posts gave a solution however. My entire life is on that HD.... my entire MP3 collection, all my movies, games.... everything
Will You help me try to solve this problem??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 17th, 2007, 02:59 AM
angels90 angels90 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
angels90 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

Have you tried the "thorough" option for sfsextract? I had a corrupt superblock too, and it wouldn't pull anything out just using single. Thorough did the trick for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 17th, 2007, 05:06 AM
superstray superstray is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
superstray is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

yes i tried 'thorough' too, but i got the same message
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 17th, 2007, 06:03 AM
Meob's Avatar
Meob Meob is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 329
Meob is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

Quote:
Originally Posted by superstray View Post
yes i tried 'thorough' too, but i got the same message
thats not good.

try connect your pc direct to sc101, leave for a few mins and then re-try sfsextract thorough.

if it still does not work, possible HD failure
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 17th, 2007, 09:25 AM
superstray superstray is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
superstray is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

no, you don't understand, the sc101 is completely dead. The electrics are fried.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 17th, 2007, 09:48 AM
beisser's Avatar
beisser beisser is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Near Munich, Germany
Posts: 3,620
beisser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

well how should sfsextract work if your sc101t is completely dead? you cant just put the drive in your pc and try it.. first of all, get a replacement for the fried sc101t, mount the drive, and try to use sfsextract.
__________________
Forum Rules
How to contact Techsupport using various methods!
How to contact Techsupport by phone!
How to contact Techsupport online!
IPSEC-VPN, Tips and Tricks and Howto's
How to get proper access to the Enterprise-Forum!

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

EVA1: EVA9000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
EVA2: EVAx000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
NAS: ReadyNAS Pro RNDP6610
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 17th, 2007, 11:38 AM
superstray superstray is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
superstray is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

aha.... boy do i feel stupid... thanx....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 17th, 2007, 12:53 PM
angels90 angels90 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11
angels90 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Heeeelp! HD with corrupt superblock

If the power side of it fried your sc101t, you might put a claim into your electric co for compensation. Might save you the cost of having to pay for another sc101t.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:16 PM.