Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 13th, 2008, 01:34 PM
Elchin Elchin is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Elchin is on a distinguished road
Default problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

I got a problem...It states that the

user name is: admin

and that the password is: password

but when i enter the above it tells me the login is wrong

on the server http://192.168.0.1

could someone help here because Im trying to download a update for my DG834G v3 modem and to activate it I need to get to the site so i can upload it

thanks for ur time
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 13th, 2008, 03:56 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,338
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

moving to Super-G (108 Mbps) & 802.11g (54 Mbps) Routers

make sure you using WIRED ONLY (ethernet cable)
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 13th, 2008, 11:52 PM
WUSBDesign WUSBDesign is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 325
WUSBDesign is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

If your wireless router is not new, then the ID/password may have been changed. Do a hard-reset first.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 14th, 2008, 02:38 AM
Elchin Elchin is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Elchin is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

my modem is wireless but i choose to use a cable

and my computer was working all fine untill i reinstalled it to windows xp proffessional

may that be the cause? if so how could i fix it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 14th, 2008, 06:38 AM
Elchin Elchin is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Elchin is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by WUSBDesign View Post
If your wireless router is not new, then the ID/password may have been changed. Do a hard-reset first.
how do i do a hard reset?

i already did try to reset it from the back of my modem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 14th, 2008, 07:10 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,338
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elchin View Post
my modem is wireless but i choose to use a cable

and my computer was working all fine untill i reinstalled it to windows xp proffessional

may that be the cause? if so how could i fix it
any firewall installed? disable it if you have third party
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 14th, 2008, 07:11 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,338
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elchin View Post
how do i do a hard reset?

i already did try to reset it from the back of my modem
if you did hard reset correctly it will wipe so you will know

visit my site for "router reset" step1
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 16th, 2008, 12:30 PM
george3 george3 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
george3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

I am a newcomer to Netgear products and this forum but after joining to post my own query I noticed this post which was the same problem I had after plugging my DG834G V3 in. I could not connect to 192.168.0.1 from either a XP laptop or a Vista desktop, but noticed the DG834 suddenly appeared in my network screen (on the vista desktop) which after checking its properties noticed the ip address was 192.168.1.1, which I then used to succesfully log into the routers control panel with admin/password. I had previously tried a hard reset at the back of the device.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 16th, 2008, 01:09 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,338
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by george3 View Post
I am a newcomer to Netgear products and this forum but after joining to post my own query I noticed this post which was the same problem I had after plugging my DG834G V3 in. I could not connect to 192.168.0.1 from either a XP laptop or a Vista desktop, but noticed the DG834 suddenly appeared in my network screen (on the vista desktop) which after checking its properties noticed the ip address was 192.168.1.1, which I then used to succesfully log into the routers control panel with admin/password. I had previously tried a hard reset at the back of the device.

Hope that helps.
usually bottom of the unit will shows the login info.

you may simply thought wrong IP.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 17th, 2008, 01:44 AM
george3 george3 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
george3 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: problem with the server http://192.168.0.1

I can assure you that the only way I could connect to the router was using the address I suggested Not the one on the box.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:50 AM.