#1  
Old October 2nd, 2010, 07:58 PM
Bmxace Bmxace is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Bmxace is on a distinguished road
Talking 5ghz Frequency Mod?

Hey I just got this router a few days ago and I gatta say its pretty awesome. I love the dual band and how I can download anything without interuption from the other network devices.
So I am at the edge of the good frequency with the 5ghz, mostly staying in fair and sometimes dropping in poor. I read a few threads on here and I know 5ghz will never match 2.4 but I read a post on here and they were talking about power outputs. So I was wondering what if I can increase the power output on the 5ghz!
Does anyone know or can redirect me to a software/firmware or hardware mod that I can do to increase frequency range on the 5ghz? (it work fine now I'm just signal greedy )

Also I do have a problem connecting one of my laptops. Its on windows xp, with a internal PCI wireless adaptor 11a/b/g. It says its connected with very good signal at 54mbs but it does not receive packets??? therefore I cant access any internet but it stays connected...any thoughts? (I've updated the driver, used the netgear disc, reset connection, reset the router, updated everything else, disabled/enabled/repair/diagnose?????)

Thanks a lot - Netgear rocks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 2nd, 2010, 09:13 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: 5ghz Frequency Mod?

generally power output is govern by FCC regulation of how much you can use for home end. other is to use high gain antenna so enhance it which means you have mod mode the circuit board = void warranty as well


Quote:
Its on windows xp, with a internal PCI wireless adaptor 11a/b/g
802.11A - 5Ghz/54Mbps
802.11B/G 2.4Ghz/10Mbps/54Mbps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 3rd, 2010, 07:33 AM
methuselah_'s Avatar
methuselah_ methuselah_ is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,071
methuselah_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 5ghz Frequency Mod?

Quote:
Does anyone know or can redirect me to a software/firmware or hardware mod that I can do to increase frequency range on the 5ghz? (it work fine now I'm just signal greedy )
I think thats on the advance wireless settings. But I think the default is 100%.


Quote:
Also I do have a problem connecting one of my laptops. Its on windows xp, with a internal PCI wireless adaptor 11a/b/g.
Can you post the brand and its model number as well as the driver version? Do you have any security software running? Can you get an IP address on the wireless connection? if so, what is the IP? Have you tried pinging? Google on how to ping and ping the router.
__________________
"I make no claims to be an expert; I have got things wrong in the past and will again in the future." ~Mars Mug, Netgear Forums
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 3rd, 2010, 08:17 AM
jlewter jlewter is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,299
jlewter is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 5ghz Frequency Mod?

As methuselah_ says, tell us what IP the wireless adapter gets. It could help us see the problem.

In the router is DHCP turned off?
Do you have filtering enabled?
Is Block Services turned no?

If you answer no to all of the above then try this...
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
Then just connect wirelessly and see if all is well..

It sounds like either the DHCP server is off or that IPv4 is misconfigured on the wireless adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 3rd, 2010, 11:19 AM
Simon0 Simon0 is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 891
Simon0 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 5ghz Frequency Mod?

Actually 3rd party firmware that may be able to increase the 5Ghz power levels beyond what the stock claims as 100%. Also, not all of the allowable 5Ghz channels are made available by the Netgear firmware. I'm sure someone will eventually create an OpenWRT Mod for WNDR3700 with better power/freq controls.

The 5Ghz power levels are no-where near the limits put forth by the FCC because it's much harder to design good/sensitive 5Ghz or higher freq transceivers. eg. I've got lousy DSL speeds because I'm too far from the CO/RT and my modem shows it only communicates using only the lower frequencies. Even using copper, higher freq. don't travel really far it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 3rd, 2010, 09:18 PM
ccdoggy ccdoggy is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 285
ccdoggy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 5ghz Frequency Mod?

Ok, here is the thing. even if you crank up the output of the router, your computer still has to talk back to it. so even if the router is yelling with all its might to the laptop, it still has to respond which makes turning up the output typically make little difference. you might be able to pickup the signal better but get more errors talking back to the router.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 4th, 2010, 07:41 AM
Simon0 Simon0 is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 891
Simon0 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 5ghz Frequency Mod?

That is correct, but if your laptop has a lousy antenna, then the router couldn't hear it talking or send very far. Upgrading the router antenna will be hard, but replacing your pc and lapptop w/ good antennas may be sufficient. Some laptops use thumb sized stub antennas not tuned for the 5Ghz band that are lousy, upgrading & re-routing it to the back of lcd is MUCH better, if possible, in my option.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:57 AM.