Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 27th, 2011, 05:12 AM
nag947 nag947 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
nag947 is on a distinguished road
Default Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

Is this even possible?
Im in a situation where i have multiple devices that need to access my network but they are on the other end of the house away from my current DGND3700.

Therefore i need a device to connect them too that can talk to my DGND3700 via wireless on the other side of the house. I was thinking of buying one of net gears wrvxxx... series routers but i want to know if i can set it up to connect to my DGND3700 via wireless before i go and spend the money and possibly find out it doesn't work!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 27th, 2011, 05:36 AM
searay's Avatar
searay searay is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 2,873
searay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

Wireless repeats should be a last resort in my opinon. They tend to be slow and you're limited to which security you can use. Some people use them I wouldn't. As long as you understand the limitations before you set one up then you will not be let down.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 27th, 2011, 07:42 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,047
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

Look at wn2000rpt or wn3000rpt extender
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 27th, 2011, 04:04 PM
blanka blanka is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 42
blanka is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
Look at wn2000rpt or wn3000rpt extender
These netgear access points / extenders are a waste of time .... what is the point buying another expensive netgear product when top end netgear routers like DGND 3300v2 only support WEP security on the G wireless std. You are paying netgear for product that they cannot deliver upon? I am using the latest firmware and I am stuck on this issue I cannot see any way around this.

The original question was about trying to connect two routers wirelessly to one another like point to point bridge kind of thing. These extenders can offer the best security and the best wireless experience but what is the point if the routers themselves do not support these features in the context that the poster requires from his netgear products.

nag947, I would think twice before buying anything else mate!!! For proof just go into web the console of your router, the web admin interface. Access the repeating or wireless repeating section of your router. Try clicking on a few things and see what happens! You will quickly see what I am talking about. I bought a cheap and cheerful access point so I didn't burn a hole in my pocket. The AP itself is telling me not to use WEP security and my Netgear base station is telling I can only use WEP. Mate do your homework first!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 27th, 2011, 07:47 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is online now
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 94,047
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

Quote:
These netgear access points / extenders are a waste of time .... what is the point buying another expensive netgear product when top end netgear routers like DGND 3300v2 only support WEP security on the G wireless std.
if you REPEAT you do need to use WEP.

if you use WN2000RPT, YOU DO NOT! you connect to existing network without repeating as extender



Quote:
The original question was about trying to connect two routers wirelessly to one another like point to point bridge kind of thing. These extenders can offer the best security and the best wireless experience but what is the point if the routers themselves do not support these features in the context that the poster requires from his netgear products.
by standards "MANY" manufacture does the same thing using WEP for repeating.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 27th, 2011, 10:27 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

Blanka, not all repeaters/extenders need to use WDS, and so don’t need the ‘base router’ to use WDS/WEP. In fact the ‘base router’ is unaware that data is being repeated and treats the repeater just like any other wireless client. Some repeaters/extenders also use two radio devices so they can even re-transmit on a different non-overlapping 2.4GHz channel which means no significant loss of throughput.

June recommended those range extenders specifically for those reasons.

This manual might clear up a few points;

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/WN..._UM_8Dec10.pdf
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.

Last edited by Mars Mug; July 27th, 2011 at 10:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 28th, 2011, 01:52 AM
blanka blanka is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 42
blanka is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars Mug View Post
Blanka, not all repeaters/extenders need to use WDS, and so don’t need the ‘base router’ to use WDS/WEP. In fact the ‘base router’ is unaware that data is being repeated and treats the repeater just like any other wireless client. Some repeaters/extenders also use two radio devices so they can even re-transmit on a different non-overlapping 2.4GHz channel which means no significant loss of throughput.

June recommended those range extenders specifically for those reasons.

This manual might clear up a few points;

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/WN..._UM_8Dec10.pdf
That does clear things up actually thank you.

Ibrar
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 28th, 2011, 05:03 AM
nag947 nag947 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
nag947 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

My cousin has the WNR2000rpt and it is too under performing for what i need it for.

I currently use a pretty decent wireless pci card on my computer but I'm thinkining of getting a has so i want my has and pc to talk together using a gigabit connection. This is why I ask if a router like the WNDR3400 can act just like the WNR2000rpt as i noticed on my DGND3700 web page that there is an option to put the dgnd3700 into a wireless base station mode and then connect other devices to it to boost the signal (well at least thats what it appears to do, havnt tested as i don't have a second net gear router to try). I want to know if anyone has tested connecting one of these routers to the dgnd3700 (or a similar net gear) and then having another net gear wireless router acting as a bridge...

i hope i make sense lol
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 28th, 2011, 05:58 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

A universal repeater/extender will not require the ‘base’ router to be configured in any particular way, the extender connects to the router in the same way as any other wireless client device and so the ‘base’ router treats the repeater in the same way as any other client device. Many Netgear routers that provide some kind of repeating / base station mode will use WDS, which in turn will use WEP, which in turn will drop throughput to 802.11g (54Mbps) levels, and then repeating halves that. The WNR2000rpt should not require the DGND3700 to be configured for repeating.

Poor performance from range extenders is often because they are placed at a poor reception point in relation to the router. The repeater needs a fairly good signal otherwise throughput will take a hammering.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 29th, 2011, 03:16 AM
nag947 nag947 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
nag947 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Connect a wireless router to another wireless router USING WIRELESS

wow you sound like you know your stuff, i guess ill have to wait for link sys to update there wet610n ( http://www.linksysbycisco.com/UK/en/...?lid=LearnMore )

thanks any way guys
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:00 AM.