#1  
Old June 18th, 2007, 01:09 AM
DarkestKnight DarkestKnight is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
DarkestKnight is on a distinguished road
Default Definitive fix for WG311v3 and Vista!!!

Hi folks, I figured it out!

First off, you need to uninstall the drivers every which way. Uninstall the software from the uninstall/change menu. As well as go to the device manager and click on out netgear wg311 friend and uninstall it all together.

Next, you should just flat out use the newest wg311v3 2.0 "vista compatible" driver for the installation.
-Go ahead and install it.
-but before rebooting your computer... go into >program files (x86) and then the netgear directory, and then the wg311 directory. delete our wlancfg5 culprit.
-then delete the shortcut on the desktop to the smart wizard.
-lastly, go into your start menu, go to the Startup folder under >All Programs and delete the startup file for the smart wizard.

Now go ahead and restart... over, and over, and over... and marvel at the fact that it doesnt get screwed up anymore!

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 18th, 2007, 04:47 AM
Forum_Moderator's Avatar
Forum_Moderator Forum_Moderator is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 761
Forum_Moderator is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Definitive fix for WG311v3 and Vista!!!

Thanks for the information.
__________________
That's not a knife.
THAT's a knife.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 18th, 2007, 11:01 AM
lol_vista_compatability lol_vista_compatability is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
lol_vista_compatability is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Definitive fix for WG311v3 and Vista!!!

I tried this, but it didn't work for me. Here's what I did:

Uninstalled Netgear Software (the new 2.0 version)
Removed drivers for the card from the System32\Drivers Folder
Installed 2.0 software.
Deleted wlancfg5.exe.
Deleted desktop and startmenu shortcuts.
Deleted shortcut from startup folder.
Restarted computer.
Login, vista tries to install drivers.
Doesn't work, the wireless card does not appear in under Network Connections.
Card still appears the same way in device manager, that is recognized but with the Code 10 error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 18th, 2007, 11:26 AM
lol_vista_compatability lol_vista_compatability is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
lol_vista_compatability is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Definitive fix for WG311v3 and Vista!!!

I went back through your process again thinking I might have missed somthing or messed something up. Initially after restarting it seemed that it had worked, but I decided to restart my computer again to make sure of it. Of course, it no longer works now, and the problem is back again. I've had this happen several times now where I can use the card one time, and then after a restart it's no longer working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 18th, 2007, 03:23 PM
DarkestKnight DarkestKnight is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
DarkestKnight is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Definitive fix for WG311v3 and Vista!!!

yea, sorry, i got too excited too soon.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 19th, 2007, 10:31 PM
therises54 therises54 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
therises54 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Definitive fix for WG311v3 and Vista!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkestKnight View Post
yea, sorry, i got too excited too soon.
any luck on this yet?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 20th, 2007, 08:52 PM
WICKEDCONTRA WICKEDCONTRA is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
WICKEDCONTRA is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Definitive fix for WG311v3 and Vista!!!

:*( Not Yet
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 25th, 2007, 11:36 AM
WICKEDCONTRA WICKEDCONTRA is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
WICKEDCONTRA is on a distinguished road
Smile NEW DRIVER ON WINDOWS UPDATE FOR WG311 v3

im downloading it right now hopefully it works!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 25th, 2007, 02:19 PM
RobP RobP is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
RobP is on a distinguished road
Default Re: NEW DRIVER ON WINDOWS UPDATE FOR WG311 v3

Didn't for me (Vista 64 bit), still got Code 10 errors.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 3rd, 2007, 01:52 PM
not_a_happy_customer not_a_happy_customer is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
not_a_happy_customer is on a distinguished road
Default Re: NEW DRIVER ON WINDOWS UPDATE FOR WG311 v3

I have just a built a new PC with Vista Ultimate 64 Bit and I thought as i have a DG834G I would better off buying a WG311 V3. I guess not as it doesn't work (unless is chooses too which is about once in a blue moon).


Has anyone found a solution yet or has netgear finaly found the light?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:17 AM.