#1  
Old December 18th, 2006, 03:25 PM
twinkiman twinkiman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
twinkiman is on a distinguished road
Default FS728TS VLAN confusion?

I am the new system administrator for a sandbox university lab. We recently upgraded to a FS728TS and I was wondering about vlan configuration and untagging. Currently there is one uplink from the campus network (Alcatel 7700) coming into port g1 with an 802.1q tag of 39. I am wanting to take that tagged uplink and send it to at least port g4 untagged. Am I correct in the understanding that I need to:
1. add vlan 39 to the vlan profile and make port g1 a member of it
2. configure g1 to untag egress packets
3. set g1 and any other ports sharing that uplink to PVID to 39

What exactly is the PVID versus the VLAN ID?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 18th, 2006, 11:14 PM
LapGear LapGear is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 45
LapGear is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FS728TS VLAN confusion?

Port g1 need to be a member of VLAN39 and tagged.
Port g4 need to be a member of VLAN39 and untagged.
PVID of g4 has to be 39. PVID of g1 should not matter as all packets coming into g1 will be tagged anyway.

When an untagged packet igress into a tagged port, the packet will be tagged with the PVID before it is egressed from the port.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 19th, 2006, 12:37 AM
Weifeng_yang Weifeng_yang is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Weifeng_yang is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FS728TS VLAN confusion?

the other ports (eg:e1,e2...e24) should be untagged to VLAN39
G3,G4 should be stack port as default
you'd better use G2 instead of G4
__________________
Connect with Innovation
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 19th, 2006, 03:36 PM
twinkiman twinkiman is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
twinkiman is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: FS728TS VLAN confusion?

Thanks everybody. The VLAN documentation is a bit sketchy. I hope this thread will be helpful to others in the future trying to sort VLAN's out.

For the sake of completeness, the grand master plan to implement is that g4 is my server room uplink, g2 is my sun thin client downlink from the server room, and g3 is my development room downlink from the server room. Since I'm using the switch in single unit mode, not stacking mode, it should be ok. I plan to simply use untagged vlans for g2 to e1-e12 and g3 to e13-e24. Also this will put my gigabit downlinks getting truncated to 100M at the switch and not the server itself. Also to provide the nessessary gigabit backbone requirments for our server room, I simply have a netgear gs608 for now on g4. The FS728TS is great for getting rid of switch daisy chaining.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 20th, 2006, 11:21 AM
rhwalker rhwalker is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Memphis, TN, USA
Posts: 59
rhwalker is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FS728TS VLAN confusion?

Also check the online help on the admin page. Often it's all the documentation that exists for new features, which aren't discussed in the documenation.

Russ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:42 AM.