Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 05:01 AM
wadd3456 wadd3456 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
wadd3456 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

I just purchased a refurbished WGR614 V6 and started up new DSL service for my mother-in-law. DSL install went great and works flawlessly when plugged direct to the cable modem.

My router came with nothing (just a router and wires). I plugged from the cable modem into the internet port on the router. Then from the LAN port to the computer.

Nothing happens. I have all the proper lights on the router (internet, lan #2, and power), but thats about it. Shouldnt there be some sort of software to install so the computer knows I have the router? I have this same setup at home but cant remember what I did to make it work.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 05:16 AM
Frank Frank is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19
Frank is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

The cd is not needed to setup the router. To log into the web interface of the router, simply plug everything in, load internet explorer and go to http://192.168.1.1/ . If this is the first setup, you should not even need to type in this address, and routerlogin.com should load automatically to go through the wizard.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 05:22 AM
wadd3456 wadd3456 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
wadd3456 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank View Post
The cd is not needed to setup the router. To log into the web interface of the router, simply plug everything in, load internet explorer and go to http://192.168.1.1/ . If this is the first setup, you should not even need to type in this address, and routerlogin.com should load automatically to go through the wizard.
That does nothing. That was the first thing I tried.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 05:23 AM
wadd3456 wadd3456 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
wadd3456 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

One other thing. My laptop cant see the router either.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 02:17 PM
wadd3456 wadd3456 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
wadd3456 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

Is there anything I can do to check the router even works?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 03:57 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

There is no software required to install on your PC to use the router other than the standard Windows Ethernet drivers an protocols, the router is simply a network device that the PC will communicate with.

You need to be sure your PC TCP/IP settings are correct, see this;

http://documentation.netgear.com/ref...work-3-12.html

Make sure you have any software firewalls disabled.

The manual for your router is here;

http://kbserver.netgear.com/products/wgr614v6.asp

If you still can’t connect to the router by entering http://www.routerlogin.net in a browser window, then at a command prompt type ipconfig /all and post the results here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 23rd, 2006, 03:58 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,398
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

By the way, what is the make and model number of the modem you have?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 24th, 2006, 04:30 AM
wadd3456 wadd3456 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
wadd3456 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

I will try all that in a moment. I also plugged the router into my laptop with no success as well.

Its a Netgear WGR614 V6 (its in the title of the tread)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 24th, 2006, 04:52 AM
wadd3456 wadd3456 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
wadd3456 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

Sorry, I just saw you asked for the MODEM. Its a Westell model # C90-610030-06. I have this exact setup at home as well (router and cable modem).

My local area conection had windows firewall on, so I turned that off too. All software firewalls I could find were off as well. TCP/IP is on obtain automatically. Next I plugged it back into the router and the internet and ethernet lights blink like mad for a while. The internet light on the router blinks as well. Eventually they stay solid...still, nothing happens. I cant log in http://www.routerlogin.net/ or anything.

Here is something odd. When its going through the router it does still show the Local connection as connected. I dont really think it is though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 24th, 2006, 05:12 AM
wadd3456 wadd3456 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
wadd3456 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to install WGR614 V6 without CD?

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : YOUR-2CA16646B7
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-76-B2-16-A6
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 24, 2006 8:59:22 AM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 25, 2006 8:59:22 AM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:56 AM.