Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wired Networking Products for SOHO Applications > Wired Routers & Modem Gateways

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 2nd, 2007, 04:13 AM
123abc 123abc is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
123abc is on a distinguished road
Default Disabling NAT?

I have Netgear Cable/DSL router RP614v3

very simple question. How do I go about disabling NAT on this router? Sorry, but I can't find the option anywhere on the configuration window. I was able to find how to disable the DCHP server, but not NAT..

Can someone show a screenshot or explain?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 2nd, 2007, 10:04 AM
123abc 123abc is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
123abc is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

nevermind.. I was told that it's impossible to disable NAT on this router.
*sigh* now I have to buy new hardware.

How come this router doesn't have this feature? Almost all other routers/modems have it..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 2nd, 2007, 10:12 AM
beisser's Avatar
beisser beisser is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Near Munich, Germany
Posts: 3,620
beisser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

thats where you are wrong... slmost all consumer models from netgear cant disable nat (exception are the dg834 for example).

the reason for this is pretty simple. no consumer really needs to turn off nat. why? easy again. because almost ever consumer-affordable internet-access line has only one ip-address.

if you are a businessman and have a business-line with more than one ip-address then you should buy the business-class firewalls which have the possibility to turn off nat.

third possibility would be a lan-lan routing but thats nothing for consumer-grade routers anyway.
__________________
Forum Rules
How to contact Techsupport using various methods!
How to contact Techsupport by phone!
How to contact Techsupport online!
IPSEC-VPN, Tips and Tricks and Howto's
How to get proper access to the Enterprise-Forum!

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

EVA1: EVA9000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
EVA2: EVAx000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
NAS: ReadyNAS Pro RNDP6610
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 2nd, 2007, 11:14 AM
123abc 123abc is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
123abc is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

I don't have/own a business

I would do lan to lan routing, but all of the lan ports are already used up. (only 4 ports, & 4 machines connected)
Reason I need to get around NAT is because I'm trying to run a server, and NAT is blocking the connection.

I think I'll have to buy a Network Switch, and replace the Netgear router with it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 7th, 2007, 10:57 PM
sebus sebus is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
sebus is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

DG834 can also turn off NAT completly, but ONLY in firmware 1.0.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 8th, 2007, 02:42 AM
beisser's Avatar
beisser beisser is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Prophet
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Near Munich, Germany
Posts: 3,620
beisser is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebus View Post
DG834 can also turn off NAT completly, but ONLY in firmware 1.0.5

__________________
Forum Rules
How to contact Techsupport using various methods!
How to contact Techsupport by phone!
How to contact Techsupport online!
IPSEC-VPN, Tips and Tricks and Howto's
How to get proper access to the Enterprise-Forum!

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning." -- Rich Cook

EVA1: EVA9000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
EVA2: EVAx000 -> 32" Samsung LCD
NAS: ReadyNAS Pro RNDP6610
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 8th, 2007, 05:42 AM
Hlaskover Hlaskover is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Hlaskover is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 123abc View Post
How come this router doesn't have this feature? Almost all other routers/modems have it..
r u sure? because I never heard of router that doesn't perform NAT - what you need is switch not router
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 13th, 2007, 11:19 AM
VinylPusher VinylPusher is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
VinylPusher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlaskover View Post
r u sure? because I never heard of router that doesn't perform NAT - what you need is switch not router
My old SpeedTouch 510 (v1, I think) lets me use my 8-ip block without NAT. I'm currently trying to figure out how to do the same with my DG834v3.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 16th, 2007, 11:51 AM
VinylPusher VinylPusher is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
VinylPusher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

Figured it. Ended up being relatively simple.

Still can't get telnet working properly (to the DG834's console). I can live without that though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 16th, 2007, 01:43 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,979
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Disabling NAT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VinylPusher View Post
Figured it. Ended up being relatively simple.

Still can't get telnet working properly (to the DG834's console). I can live without that though.
Quick question - when you do an ipconfig (or it's equivalent for non windows OSs) from the server, what ip address do you see? Public or private?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:00 AM.