#1  
Old September 11th, 2007, 01:27 AM
war war is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
war is on a distinguished road
Question Ga311= Realtec Rtl8169

Hi to all.

I bought a NETGEAR Gigiabyte PCI AdapterGA311
Installed it into my PC it comes up as Realtec RTL8169

Sytem specs are as follows,

Computer:
Computer Type ACPI x64-based PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate
OS Service Pack -
Internet Explorer 7.0.6000.16473
DirectX DirectX 10.0
Computer Name *******
User Name *****
Logon Domain *****
Date / Time 2007-09-11 / 19:17

Motherboard:
CPU Type QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600, 3500 MHz (9 x 389)
Motherboard Name EVGA NF68 (2 PCI, 2 PCI-E x1, 3 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Dual Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce 680i SLI
System Memory 2048 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (07/11/07)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)

Display:
Video Adapter GeForce 8800 GTX (768 MB)
Video Adapter GeForce 8800 GTX (768 MB)
3D Accelerator nVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX
Monitor Dell P1130 [21" CRT] (6D2542861008)
Monitor Generic PnP Monitor [NoDB] (304T0020U0147)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter SigmaTel STAC9750/51 @ Creative Audigy 2 ZS (SB0350) Sound Card




Network:
Primary IP Address 192.168.1.100
Primary MAC Address 00-00-**-**-**-**
Network Adapter NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Network Adapter NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family PCI Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0) <---(THIS IS HTE NETGEAR GA311)

Any ideas as to why this is happening, have tried all the normal instilatin proceduers....????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 11th, 2007, 08:22 AM
Lasse Lasse is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Lasse is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Ga311= Realtec Rtl8169

"Network Adapter Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family PCI Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0) <---(THIS IS HTE NETGEAR GA311)"

RTL8169/8110 is the Chip-Set on the card(GA311), i think!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 11th, 2007, 08:52 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,295
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Ga311= Realtec Rtl8169

Have you tried installing the Netgear drivers?

The Realtek RTL8169/8110 is a gigabit chipset used be many manufacturers, Windows has it's own drivers for the chipset and in my experience those drivers provide very disappointing performance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 11th, 2007, 05:56 PM
war war is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
war is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Ga311= Realtec Rtl8169

Yes I have tried to reinstall the drivers in 32 and 64 bit vista but no luck comes up the same..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 10th, 2007, 01:34 PM
Redalert Redalert is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Redalert is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Ga311= Realtec Rtl8169

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordem View Post
Have you tried installing the Netgear drivers?

The Realtek RTL8169/8110 is a gigabit chipset used be many manufacturers, Windows has it's own drivers for the chipset and in my experience those drivers provide very disappointing performance.
I use the Realtek drivers that I downloaded from the Realtek websites and it seems to working fine.

Why I have used the Realtek drivers as oppose to the Netgear one's is that the you get more control over the card. For example if I use the Netgear drivers it doesn't seem to fully disable the wake-on-lan function properly on the card and it seems that power is still being drawn. How I notice this is that the the lan conenction is still active on my router even though I have turn my computer off.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:14 PM.