#1  
Old August 24th, 2009, 02:36 PM
tortoise423 tortoise423 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
tortoise423 is on a distinguished road
Default Wireless Router Not Seen

RangeMax Dual Band Wireless N Router (WND3300)

Recieving internet to my desktop via wire.

Recieving internet to my laptop (Intel WiFi Link 5300 AGN) through the N radio.

On another PC 15 feet from the router neither the N or the G is available (Linksys Wireless G PCI with speed boost) using either XP or the Linksys software. It worked just fine with my old wireless router. I've shut down and rebootted everything in the friendly orders.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 24th, 2009, 02:50 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,493
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless Router Not Seen

There is no N radio, there is the 2.4GHz band and the 5GHz band, both of which can operate at up to N rates (though not both at the same time with that model router). We need to be clear on this because otherwise Im not sure what you are saying about the Linksys adaptor, is it dual band (2.4/5 GHz) or not? The fact that the 5300 picks up the router signal suggests that there could be some incompatibility with the Linksys. But we need to understand if the Linksys is dual band or not and if its capable of N rates.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 28th, 2009, 05:30 AM
tortoise423 tortoise423 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
tortoise423 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless Router Not Seen

The Linksys is not dual band; 2.4 only. I guess I was mistaken in thinking that this router would operate my 2.4/5 devices at 5 and my 2.4 only devices at 2.4, at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 29th, 2009, 06:34 AM
me_grimlock's Avatar
me_grimlock me_grimlock is offline
Junior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 183
me_grimlock is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless Router Not Seen

Id try changing the mode on the router. One of modes or possibly the channel should let the PC detect the wireless router. try the advance settings as well like the long preamble and the RTS and fragmentation to 2304.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 29th, 2009, 09:41 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wireless Router Not Seen

make sure wireless switch is turned ON at laptop. usually locates at side, front of the unit with small switch..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 29th, 2009, 12:46 PM
tortoise423 tortoise423 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
tortoise423 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Wireless Router Not Seen

I changed the G channel from Auto to 11, and all my G and N devices are now connected.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:48 AM.