#1  
Old September 27th, 2007, 03:32 PM
matthew1429 matthew1429 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
matthew1429 is on a distinguished road
Default WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

I have a desktop that chops every time I put a wireless card in it, so it's not connected to my wireless internet/network. I have a netgear wgr614 and and just bought a netgear wpn824.

Is there any way I can hook my desktop that's left out of the mix to a wireless router through ethernet and configure that router to act as a wireless adapter which hops on the wireless network?


[] desktop computer
|
| [] Cable Modem
[] wireless router |
| |
| [] wireless router #2
\_______________________________________/
Wireless connection
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 27th, 2007, 03:42 PM
matthew1429 matthew1429 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
matthew1429 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

disregard the diagram, It didn't show up right here's a diagram

PC W.router W.router2 Cable Modem
[]====[]-----------------------[]=========[]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 27th, 2007, 03:51 PM
matthew1429 matthew1429 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
matthew1429 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

I should also state that I currently have the same SSID for both routers, same channel, and different ip addresses (192.168.1.1/192.168.1.99)

DHCP disabled on the one connected to laptop

WPASK encryption enabled
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 27th, 2007, 05:25 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

this only solution.. cable between the the unit

http://kbserver.netgear.com/inquira/...46#__highlight
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 28th, 2007, 05:32 AM
matthew1429 matthew1429 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
matthew1429 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

thank you for trying to help. I've been there. I'm trying to avoid a cable as it's not feasible, hence the title.

Does everyone concur that there is no other alternative?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 28th, 2007, 08:40 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

you need to look this..

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=6776
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:48 AM.