Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Adapters > RangeMax Adapters

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 19th, 2007, 08:25 AM
T4i T4i is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
T4i is on a distinguished road
Default WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

I see lots of people with the wlancfg5.exe bum-out problem.....

Anyone sorted it yet? I went and bought one of these buggers yesterday....I'm having the same darn issue using the different selection of drivers.

I'm now using 1.4.1.306 driver cos I don't want all the Vista support cos I'm only using XP pro.

Following the install guide to the word, what a pain in the ass that is! Opening my case everytime I want to try a diff driver, pushing PC back into the hole, wiring it all back up just to find the 'wlancfg5.exe' problem still exists.

This is what happens:-

a) Sometime the Netgear Smart Wizard starts and runs fine for hours on bootup.

b) Sometimes the NSW starts fine but then the icon freezes after a couple seconds on bootup.

c) Sometimes the NSW jusst doesnt startup on bootup.

d) Sometimes the NSW systray icon appears to be there and then I will go and hover my curser over it and the systray icon dissapears (not high CPU usage)

e) Sometimes I get really mad

f) Sometimes I dream of been PC problem free.

PC Specs:-

AMD X2 (AM2) 4600+
Biostar 6100 (No laughing please - I have kids so on a tight budget)
Audigy 2
WPN311 (foo*er)
2 SATA's
2 ATA's
Tagan 460W PSU
7600GT

CPU @ 38C Idle

Anyone found a fix APART from using the M$ wireless config jobby?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 19th, 2007, 09:09 AM
T4i T4i is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
T4i is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'



4932_appcompat.txt

<DATABASE>
<EXE NAME="wlancfg5.exe" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_PRIVACY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="wcapi.dll" SIZE="233472" CHECKSUM="0x405BD921" BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.1.0.161" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.1.0.161" PRODUCT_VERSION="4.1.0.161" FILE_DESCRIPTION="WCAPI DLL" COMPANY_NAME="Atheros" PRODUCT_NAME="Atheros Client API Library" FILE_VERSION="4.1.0.161" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="WCAPI.DLL" INTERNAL_NAME="WcAPI" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © 2004, Atheros Communications, Inc. All Rights Reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.1.0.161" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.1.0.161" LINK_DATE="01/17/2006 21:56:38" UPTO_LINK_DATE="01/17/2006 21:56:38" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="wgapi.dll" SIZE="233472" CHECKSUM="0x684484C3" BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.1.0.161" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.1.0.161" PRODUCT_VERSION="4.1.0.161" FILE_DESCRIPTION="WGAPI DLL" COMPANY_NAME="Atheros" PRODUCT_NAME="Atheros GUI API Library" FILE_VERSION="4.1.0.161" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="WGAPI.DLL" INTERNAL_NAME="WgAPI" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © 2004, Atheros Communications, Inc. All Rights Reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.1.0.161" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.1.0.161" LINK_DATE="01/17/2006 21:57:20" UPTO_LINK_DATE="01/17/2006 21:57:20" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="wlancfg5.exe" SIZE="1503232" CHECKSUM="0x1F4CD882" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.4.1.306" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.54" PRODUCT_VERSION="1, 0, 0, 54" FILE_DESCRIPTION="NetgearCUv2 MFC Application" COMPANY_NAME="" PRODUCT_NAME="NetgearCUv2 Application" FILE_VERSION="1, 4, 1, 306" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="NetgearCUv2.EXE" INTERNAL_NAME="NETGEAR Smart Configuration" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (C) 2003" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.4.1.306" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.54" LINK_DATE="09/15/2006 09:13:19" UPTO_LINK_DATE="09/15/2006 09:13:19" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="WlanDll.dll" SIZE="98304" CHECKSUM="0x2A1724B2" BIN_FILE_VERSION="306.0.2.9" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" PRODUCT_VERSION="1, 0, 0, 1" FILE_DESCRIPTION="WlanDll DLL" COMPANY_NAME="" PRODUCT_NAME="WlanDll Dynamic Link Library" FILE_VERSION="306, 0, 2, 9" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="WlanDll.DLL" INTERNAL_NAME="WlanDll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (C) 2003" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="306.0.2.9" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" LINK_DATE="09/15/2006 06:28:07" UPTO_LINK_DATE="09/15/2006 06:28:07" VER_LANGUAGE="Chinese (Taiwan) [0x404]" />
</EXE>
<EXE NAME="kernel32.dll" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_THISFILEONLY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="kernel32.dll" SIZE="984576" CHECKSUM="0xF0B331F6" BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.3119" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.3119" PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.3119" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Windows NT BASE API Client DLL" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® Windows® Operating System" FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.3119 (xpsp_sp2_gdr.070416-1301)" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="kernel32" INTERNAL_NAME="kernel32" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0xF9293" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.3119" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.3119" LINK_DATE="04/16/2007 15:52:53" UPTO_LINK_DATE="04/16/2007 15:52:53" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
</EXE>
</DATABASE>
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 20th, 2007, 03:18 AM
VesNL VesNL is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 12
VesNL is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

Have you tried using WZC? (Windows wireless manager)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 21st, 2007, 03:44 AM
T4i T4i is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 7
T4i is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

Yeh, using WZC now, got no choice really. Apart from taking the netgear back and going for another brand.

Shame, I really have stuck to Netgear over the years, and its what I tell other people to buy.

I'm really suprised by the number of people with the same issue......would be nice to know what is creating the problem....

Even the WZC icon is saying not connected but I'm on here posting lol....what a wierd problem!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 4th, 2007, 12:23 AM
Squeezit Squeezit is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Squeezit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

wow so noone helped you either eh?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 8th, 2007, 06:27 AM
beachbenns beachbenns is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
beachbenns is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

Anyone solved this riddle yet? I click smart wizard and noting happens except wlancfg5 starting in task manager every time i click it, no gui shows up though. Whut the heck?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 18th, 2008, 03:22 AM
robmar0se robmar0se is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
robmar0se is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

I have been using Netgear exclusively for some time as it gave rise to fewer problems - till now that is.

I have to say that the Netgear support is terrible - recently also had a wpn111 that was faulty - the hassle in getting it changed was unbelievable.

But anyway back to the wlancfg5.exe problem which I have also started getting recently.

I was using the wpn311 with the dg834pn fine - all wired, except one PC using the wpn311 (probably for in excess of 12 months trouble free). Then the client wanted a pc moved so we installed another wpn311 and away we went - all was fine for a a month or so then we started getting problems. The wlancfg5.exe error started, it spread to both PCs, deteriorated to the point that eventually the server became inaccessible to both.

Both Pcs are in close proximity, have a relatively low quality signal (due to buiilding) and use WZC.

I uninstalled the netgear software and also the windows networking and printer/file sharing services. Reboot and re-install microsoft then netgear. This was 10 days ago. The new PC has not shown the problem again, however the original PC continues to show this problem (remember this was trouble free for 12 months!).

Wonder if it has anytrhing to do with the wireless broadcast, as it has only started happening since a second PC was added plus is only 4 feet away from the original wireless PC?

I will go round there again and change the router settings - but have to say (i) strange problem (ii) very disappointed that Netgear have not come up with an answer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 15th, 2008, 11:36 PM
robmar0se robmar0se is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
robmar0se is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

Update - situation now worse as getting the 0x000000d1 BSOD intermittantly; this is driver related and appears to say that the software is trying to access protected or non-existent memory.

Ram scan, hdd scan, virus scan all clear. Upgraded mouseware and reset VM - problem intermittant, the BSOD has not repeated itself yet but it is only a matter of time as I still get the wlancfg5 error.

Anyone else got any input?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 3rd, 2008, 04:23 AM
robmar0se robmar0se is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
robmar0se is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe' proximity issue?

As Netgear support have not been able to come up with any answers, I have decided to replace the netgear WPN311 adapters. For 10 days now have been using a usb wireless adapter from another manufacturer - the funny thing is that since then the second PC has stopped giving us the wlancfg5 error on the WPN311??

Further the removed adapter installed on another PC at another site is running fine.

The question comes to mind is there a proximity issue, whereby if the 2 PCs are close together they interfere with one another - even when using WZC?

Has anyone else experienced this?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 10th, 2008, 04:54 PM
robmar0se robmar0se is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
robmar0se is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPN311 XP Pro 'wlancfg5.exe'

Well b****r me! I bought a couple of Buffalo adapters, DOA on arrival!

Life is strange sometimes as on the next day, wondering what I should do, when netgear actually called me and offerred to replace the WPN311's - apparently they are aware of some conficts with certain PC drivers.


These get installed on 12th March so we shall see, In the meanwhile the cheap Inventel USB wireless adapter is doing stering work!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:47 AM.