#1  
Old December 30th, 2006, 08:58 PM
lukeskywacko lukeskywacko is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
lukeskywacko is on a distinguished road
Default dns does not work properly

I cannot access the following website using MR814 v3

http://kart.nexon.com

When I connect my computer directly to DSL modem, the page would finish loading just fine, but with netgear router, the page loads partially, and it never finishes.
After I examined the web page source, I found out that the website loads some of its include files from http://s.nx.com, and netgear router does not know how to handle the ip addresses of s.nx.com from dns server.

I went into cmd prompt, typed nslookup, tried looking up s.nx.com using netgear router as dns server, and it just does not respond.

Quote:
C:\>nslookup
Default Server: [192.168.1.1]
Address: 192.168.1.1

> www.yahoo.com
Server: [192.168.1.1]
Address: 192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.yahoo-ht2.akadns.net
Address: 209.131.36.158
Aliases: www.yahoo.com

>----[looking up www.yahoo.com works just fine]----

---[looking up s.nx.com which does not work]---
> s.nx.com
Server: [192.168.1.1]
Address: 192.168.1.1
--------------


*** [192.168.1.1] can't find s.nx.com: Unspecified error
when I changed server to 4.2.2.1, it gave me the results for that name lookup

Quote:
> server 4.2.2.1
Default Server: vnsc-pri.sys.gtei.net
Address: 4.2.2.1

> s.nx.com
Server: vnsc-pri.sys.gtei.net
Address: 4.2.2.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: s.nx.com
Addresses: 218.145.45.119, 218.145.45.120, 218.145.45.121, 18.145.45.122
218.145.45.123, 218.145.45.124, 218.153.7.120, 218.153.7.121, 218.153.7.122
218.153.7.123, 218.153.7.124, 218.153.7.125, 218.153.7.126, 218.153.7.127
218.153.7.128, 218.153.7.129, 218.153.7.211, 218.153.7.212, 218.153.7.213
218.153.7.214, 218.153.7.215, 218.153.7.216, 220.90.205.47, 220.90.205.48
220.90.205.49, 220.90.205.97, 220.90.205.98, 220.90.205.99, 222.122.59.56
222.122.59.57, 222.122.133.231, 222.122.133.232, 222.122.133.233, 222.122.133.234

>
It seems like netgear router does not know how to handle the address above.
In Windows XP network settings, I typed in static DNS server IP addresses (4.2.2.1, 4.2.2.2), and the website now works fine.
So, instead of using netgear router as dns server, my computer is querying the ip addresses directly from my ISP's dns server.
Hopefully, NETGEAR would resolve this problem soon. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 31st, 2006, 12:38 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,558
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: dns does not work properly

The router isnít a DNS server, it picks up the DNS through DHCP from your ISP, and in turn all PCs, which connect to the router, then look to the router for the DNS addresses. So problems are occurring with that process, and/or in some cases the ISP DNS servers themselves. I have seen this sort of problem with other manufacturers routers, linksys/Buffalo/Belkin, not just Netgear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 31st, 2006, 10:54 PM
lukeskywacko lukeskywacko is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
lukeskywacko is on a distinguished road
Default Re: dns does not work properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars Mug View Post
The router isnít a DNS server, it picks up the DNS through DHCP from your ISP, and in turn all PCs, which connect to the router, then look to the router for the DNS addresses. So problems are occurring with that process, and/or in some cases the ISP DNS servers themselves. I have seen this sort of problem with other manufacturers routers, linksys/Buffalo/Belkin, not just Netgear.
In the router settings, it was set to get the DNS server entries automatically from ISP. This did not work with the s.nx.com
I then thought it might be that the ISP's dns server was not getting the s.nx.com address updated from its root server.
However, when I went into CMD prompt and typed nslookup, changed default dns server from 192.168.1.1 to my isp's dns server address, looked up s.nx.com and it just worked fine.
I know router isn't a dns server, but something is not right about this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 1st, 2007, 02:07 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,558
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: dns does not work properly

From what I understand, and that is a limited understanding, the DNS addresses are picked up through DHCP from the ISP, which is a one time activity at lease time. So I assume that the DNS is not being given or read for some reason leaving the router, and hence the PCs without a valid DNS IP address.

Since this is a two way process, itís possible for the fault to be with either the router or the ISP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 5th, 2007, 11:49 PM
lukeskywacko lukeskywacko is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
lukeskywacko is on a distinguished road
Default Re: dns does not work properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars Mug View Post
From what I understand, and that is a limited understanding, the DNS addresses are picked up through DHCP from the ISP, which is a one time activity at lease time. So I assume that the DNS is not being given or read for some reason leaving the router, and hence the PCs without a valid DNS IP address.

Since this is a two way process, itís possible for the fault to be with either the router or the ISP.
The error is very reproducable.
You go into CMD prompt.
Type ipconfig /all

and you should see your computer's dns server is set to your router's ip address.
Now, go into nslookup (eg: C:\>NSLOOKUP)
look for s.nx.com using default server (your router)
it will get you an error trying to look up that address.
Quote:
> s.nx.com
Server: [192.168.1.1]
Address: 192.168.1.1

*** [192.168.1.1] can't find s.nx.com: Unspecified error
now change the dns server by typing server 4.2.2.1 (or any dns server that your isp has assigned to you)

Quote:
> server 4.2.2.1
Default Server: vnsc-pri.sys.gtei.net
Address: 4.2.2.1
now, try looking up the host name s.nx.com

Quote:
> s.nx.com
Server: vnsc-pri.sys.gtei.net
Address: 4.2.2.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: s.nx.com
Addresses: 218.145.45.119, 218.145.45.120, 218.145.45.121, 218.145.45.122
218.145.45.123, 218.145.45.124, 218.153.7.120, 218.153.7.121, 218.153.
7.122
218.153.7.123, 218.153.7.124, 218.153.7.125, 218.153.7.126, 218.153.7.
127
218.153.7.128, 218.153.7.129, 218.153.7.211, 218.153.7.212, 218.153.7.
213
218.153.7.214, 218.153.7.215, 218.153.7.216, 220.90.205.47, 220.90.205
.48
220.90.205.49, 220.90.205.97, 220.90.205.98, 220.90.205.99, 222.122.59
.56
222.122.59.57, 222.122.133.231, 222.122.133.232, 222.122.133.233, 222.
122.133.234
hope you do see my point.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 14th, 2007, 06:27 PM
oberon oberon is offline
Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
oberon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: dns does not work properly

I have had the same problem and tried to set the router DNS addresses to 4.2.2.1 & 2 but that did not fix the problem. I also setup a named (DNS) server on my system which acted as a caching server for those DNS sites and then redirected by DNS calls to it - that has been working perfectly for some time.

When I read your thread I switched back to the netgear provides DNS settings and it started to intermittently have lookup problems.

I think there may be something askew with the netgear or their interaction with some MS OS's (I was using 2003 and XP and XP has been OK)

(WPN824/WPNT834) - tried both with same problem
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 14th, 2007, 11:37 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,558
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: dns does not work properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeskywacko View Post
hope you do see my point.
Yes, and I don't say that your assertion that the router is getting things wrong is incorrect, but I still say that this is not guaranteed to be the case.

The PC may have the router IP as the source of the DNS server, but that does not make the router a DNS server, it does not have the capacity or processing power required for such a task, instead the router uses the address supplied by the modem at initialisation.

Substituting another DNS Server can be done in a few places, the modem (sometimes) the router (uncheck the automatic option) or the PC (in the TCP/IP settings).

Now I am not saying that with the Auto options selected that the router isnít part of the process, and so it can get things wrong. But I am saying that ISP DNS servers are not perfect either and they can have problems which can result in exactly the same symptoms.

There were a few times before I had a router, when my ISP DNS failed, and I used to work round this by selecting an alternative DNS server in my PC TCP/IP settings.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 28th, 2009, 11:41 AM
VelvetAcidExperiment VelvetAcidExperiment is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
VelvetAcidExperiment is on a distinguished road
Default DNS does not work properly++

I'm also currently having a DNS issue, my diagnosis of my router is always directed to the same error; the DNS. Weird thing is I get 1Mb per second, however I don't always get that much ping with games/websites/etc.

Vista Ultimate is probably complicating this issue, however I believe with the DNS issue fixed that I'd be able to have my service back like before. I think this thread is purely DNS issues, is there an update/source code configuration for DNS issues?

How is the DNS code accessed to correct?



send your response to me and post here also for further research on this issue for other netgear internet users thanks ^_^

Last edited by Mars Mug; June 28th, 2009 at 02:04 PM. Reason: Irrelevant Utube link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:31 AM.