Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 24th, 2006, 05:29 AM
ChrisM ChrisM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
ChrisM is on a distinguished road
Default Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

I upgraded my firmware to the latest version to fix a lock up issue with a new Dell laptop with a Centrino processor. The upgrade fixed the issue with the computer but created a different one.

I have 5 wireless connections and 1 wired connection to the router. 2 of the wireless connections stopped even seeing the network. These worked fine before. Both of the wireless cards that stopped working are older G card. 1 is a D-Link and 1 is a built in card in a Buffalo Linktheater.

All other connections work very well. The older D-Link card could be replaced, though I would hate to waste the money on a new card when this one is fine. But the Linktheater one is built in and there is no easy solution for replacement.

Any ideas as to what I can do?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 24th, 2006, 07:20 AM
Netgear1-9A-Z's Avatar
Netgear1-9A-Z Netgear1-9A-Z is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,875
Netgear1-9A-Z is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

Hi ChrisM and welcome to the forum.

So only two out of the 5 wireless computers are not seeing the SSID?

The other 3 wireless computers are working fine?

Did you reset the router afterward the upgrade?

Peace
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 24th, 2006, 09:33 AM
ChrisM ChrisM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
ChrisM is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

Yes. All others work perfectly. I reset it many times. I also tried to downgrade back to the older firmware but that didn't work so I am back to the new one. They don't even see the network but worked fine before the upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 24th, 2006, 10:19 AM
ChrisM ChrisM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
ChrisM is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

I just tried another laptop (a Dell) and it can't see the wireless network. That makes 3 devices that can't see it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 24th, 2006, 11:18 AM
Netgear1-9A-Z's Avatar
Netgear1-9A-Z Netgear1-9A-Z is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,875
Netgear1-9A-Z is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

Wierd, if there are computers that can connect, then the router is broadcasting and the wireless access point is enabled.
Can the computers that can not see the SSID of the router see any networks at all?
What wireless mode is the router set to (Wireless Settings)?
What is the wireless interference settings set to (Advanced Wireless Settings)?
Out of curiosity, did you create a unique SSID?

Peace
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 24th, 2006, 11:25 AM
ChrisM ChrisM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
ChrisM is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

The computers can see 2 or 3 different networks but can not see mine.
I have tried all wireless settings and the issue remains the same.
I have a unique SSID and WEP
Advanced are all set to default settings, just like all other settings.

This totally related to the upgraded firmware. Is there anyway to downgrade back to the old version. It failed when I tried.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 24th, 2006, 11:29 AM
otechcomputing's Avatar
otechcomputing otechcomputing is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 122
otechcomputing is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

Intel Pro Wireless cards can have trouble seeing SSIDs of routers ... have you updated the firmware for your wireless card (if it applies)?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Yes, I beta test ProSafe firmware for NETGEAR. Yes I have 8 ProSafe switches in my house.
All your Petabytes are belong to me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 24th, 2006, 11:37 AM
ChrisM ChrisM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
ChrisM is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WPNT834+WPNT121 lock up, slow web

These all worked right before the upgraded firmware. The issue isn't with the cards.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 24th, 2006, 01:29 PM
otechcomputing's Avatar
otechcomputing otechcomputing is offline
Senior Member
Advanced NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 122
otechcomputing is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

Yes and no ... the firmware could have incorporated something that the card doesn't like.

You should always explore all avenues, when dealing with wireless oddities.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Yes, I beta test ProSafe firmware for NETGEAR. Yes I have 8 ProSafe switches in my house.
All your Petabytes are belong to me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 24th, 2006, 01:38 PM
ChrisM ChrisM is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
ChrisM is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Upgraded firmware for WPNT834 - now no access

Well I fixed it. I reloaded the firmware and did another hard reboot and when it came back it is now visible by the other cards. I'd love to understand what didn't get loaded correctly that allowed it to work very well with some cards but made the network invisible to others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:41 AM.