#1  
Old November 18th, 2007, 07:48 AM
RHood RHood is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
RHood is on a distinguished road
Question Smart Wizard

I'm a newbee to netgear. I've installed the DG834G and all is working well except i don't have the Smart wizard showing on my status bar or the icon on my d/top. Can anyone tell me how to rectify this without. re-installing the thing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 18th, 2007, 09:26 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,367
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

moving to Super-G (108 Mbps) & 802.11g (54 Mbps) Routers


there is not smart wizard for the router will be showing on your desktop. if you need to access the router you need to use web interface (IE browser) see manual how to login
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 18th, 2007, 02:27 PM
RHood RHood is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
RHood is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

Thanx I understand that, what i'm talking about is the router monitor and wifi wizard that is shown in the manual....and where's the desk top icon?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 18th, 2007, 04:19 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,367
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

Quote:
Router monitor and wifi wizard
let get straight.

1. There not router monito
2. Yes, netgear wireless adapter (not router) will have netgear utility for wireless adapter to scan the network etc.

netgear utility should have started when you boot your computer. if you don't see it. I would add the netgear utility to your start up. check your netgear app folder.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 20th, 2007, 04:54 AM
RHood RHood is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
RHood is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

Sorry about the confusion. Yes it's the utility i'm looking for. it didn't load after reboot and there isn't one in the app folder.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 20th, 2007, 05:54 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,367
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

you have choose to use WZC (windows zero confi.) do you see any wireless bar at taskbar that windows put it up there?
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 22nd, 2007, 04:05 AM
RHood RHood is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
RHood is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

No nothing has been added
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 26th, 2007, 01:52 PM
RHood RHood is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
RHood is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

I have enabled my WZC it's up and running on auto but i still don't see any wifi utility in my task bar....any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 26th, 2007, 02:07 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,457
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Smart Wizard

Go to Control Panel, Network Connections, right click the wireless device, select Properties, then tick the ‘Show icon in notification area when connected’ and ‘Notify me when this connection has limited or no connectivity’ boxes.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:37 PM.