Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 8th, 2007, 05:11 PM
jpchurch34 jpchurch34 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
jpchurch34 is on a distinguished road
Question Speed? Modem? Router? or Cable ISP provider?

I just switched from DSL to cable modem. broadstripe.com. During this change I bought a new motorola surfboard cable modem and your netgear router. Broadstripe claims I am getting 4MB. Speedtests suggest closer to 1.5MB. (DSL was fast and reliable at 3MB.) How do I know if it is your router, the cable modem or the cable service???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 8th, 2007, 08:40 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,991
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Speed? Modem? Router? or Cable ISP provider?

It's called elimination - you eliminate each variable one by one (well as far as possible) - you can remove the router and connect the PC directly to the modem, and either pinpoint or eliminate the router as the culprit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 9th, 2007, 08:02 AM
jpchurch34 jpchurch34 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
jpchurch34 is on a distinguished road
Question Re: Speed? Modem? Router? or Cable ISP provider?

Ran the modem directly to the computer, taking the router out of the loop. Seems to be the cable. Is there such a thing as a booster or amplifier?
Is there line noise causing this? Or is cable misleading when it says "upto of 4MB"???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 9th, 2007, 10:12 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,991
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Speed? Modem? Router? or Cable ISP provider?

Well - upto 4 mbps means exactly that - essentially it means - could be less than 4 mbps, or, not more than 4 mbps.

One of the issues with cable internet is that it is what we call "shared medium" - the medium or cable is shared by multiple users, and the more users at any given time, the less the bandwidth available to each user - this is distinctly different to DSL, where each user has a dedicated cable from the DSL multiplexer to the user's location.

Can line noise cause it ?

I suppose it could, I don't have that much experience with cable, it's not offered in my neck of the woods.

Is there such a thing as a booster or amplifier ?

I have my doubts - cable boosters & amplifiers do exist, but many of them are "one way" - intended for television usage, you would need two way to deal with the return signal that cable internet uses.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 PM.