#1  
Old December 20th, 2007, 03:13 PM
bobbarbs bobbarbs is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
bobbarbs is on a distinguished road
Default Weak Signal

Am having trouble with weak signal strength much of the time. My daughter's house has wireless high speed (not really fast) by using an ACTIONTEC router installed by Quest. I ran cable outside to NETGEAR WPN 824 router which is weather protected by a clear plastic box enclosure. My XP computer is located 200' away with direct line-of-sight with no obstructions to a NETGEAR WPN 111 adaptor on the end of extension cable placed inside window ledge behind a dual pane window. On a 5-step signal strength graph going from very low to excellent, I usually can only get very low. It seems to be a little better late at night. Sometimes I can't even get on between 6 AM and 2 PM. The 824 router is in a flat plane inside the plastic box and about 12" underneath a roof overhang with a soffit of either alum. or thin sheet metal.
Is my distance too much? Is there a booster of some kind I can mount in between? Any suggestions would surely be appreciated.

Bobbarbs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 20th, 2007, 07:39 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Weak Signal

moving to
RangeMax Routers


I would look some kinda directional antenna to on PC side with higher gain antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 21st, 2007, 10:23 PM
bobbarbs bobbarbs is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
bobbarbs is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Weak Signal

Can you suggest a source for a simple directional antenna? Does Netgear make such a device? Is this something that maybe sits on my desk and has a USB connection to my PC? Thanks for the help.

Bobbarbs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 22nd, 2007, 12:51 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,559
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Weak Signal

There are a few places in the UK that sell these e.g. www.ebuyer.com online or Maplins.

I use one of these;

http://www.amazon.com/Buffalo-Techno.../dp/B000BNDEZY

Which works very well, has a built in amplifier, and uses Ethernet so doesn’t need any software drivers.

It has a removable antenna and I sometimes use a Hawking high gain antenna with it.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.

Last edited by Mars Mug; December 22nd, 2007 at 12:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 22nd, 2007, 05:32 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Weak Signal

if you have some skills you can use this

http://www.turnpoint.net/wireless/cantennahowto.html

or

http://www.cantenna.com/

I have cantenna to test and works good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:29 PM.