#1  
Old January 5th, 2007, 05:36 PM
audioguy16 audioguy16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 0
audioguy16 is on a distinguished road
Default GS605 and Linksys WRT54G

Hello, just bought a Netgear GS605. My question is can I just plug the switch to my linksys router so my wired computers (connected to the Netgear switch) can get an IP from the Linksys router? Will this degrade my network back to 100mb sinc the router is 100MB. THanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 5th, 2007, 06:44 PM
fordem fordem is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,562
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GS605 and Linksys WRT54G

You should be able to just plug it in and your network will continue to operate at 1Gb/sec, with the exception of traffic that passes through the Linksys router.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 6th, 2007, 08:46 AM
dvpatel dvpatel is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
dvpatel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GS605 and Linksys WRT54G

I had this same question and thank God that the OP already asked it. I tried googling this but does a Switch hand out IP addresses or does it delegate that to the router in front. I want to add a switch between my routers and my 4 400SCs now that I am running out of ports on the router. So I got this GS605 switch a few months back but haven't plugged it in as I don't want to mess up my network. So, if I put this switch in the middle, the IP Addresses etc stay the same?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 6th, 2007, 08:59 AM
fordem fordem is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,562
fordem is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GS605 and Linksys WRT54G

Switches generally do not hand out ip addresses, go ahead and install it, the ip addresses should remain the same.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 6th, 2007, 09:11 AM
dvpatel dvpatel is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
dvpatel is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GS605 and Linksys WRT54G

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordem View Post
Switches generally do not hand out ip addresses, go ahead and install it, the ip addresses should remain the same.
Thank You very much.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:51 AM.