Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 27th, 2008, 06:09 PM
DeanVern DeanVern is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
DeanVern is on a distinguished road
Default WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

Cable Modem: AMBIT Model U10C018
NetGear Router: WGR614 v9 S/N 1SVxxxx
4 Port Router: D-Link DI-704P
Computer: XP
LAN with client an XP

Need a wireless access point for my laptop without destroying my wired network.

Install WGR614 according instructions. Apply power to all units. Both XP's work and connection to Internet is successful. The Configuration Assistant does NOT come up and the front panel lights behave as advertised with the exception of the Internet Light (4), it's NOT lite - totally extinguished.
Tried two installation schemes: Click START > Run and type: http://www.routerlogin.com/CA_HiddenPage.htm. Page comes up with this heading: "This URL is not available on the NETGEAR Support Server", along with other wording. Launch Internet Explorer Browser, type "http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101496.asp" in the address bar and followed install instructions.

Yes, the Wizard will NOT help you install a Netgear box with any other vendors equipment! Is that my answer?

Any help is appreciated. DeanVern

Last edited by jmizoguchi; February 27th, 2008 at 07:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 27th, 2008, 07:04 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,276
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

read this if you have difficult setting up cable
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=11752&page=2

if you have issue setting up wireless then
this not what you want.. use 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 and access the router


moving to Super-G (108 Mbps) & 802.11g (54 Mbps) Routers
'
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 28th, 2008, 06:16 AM
DeanVern DeanVern is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
DeanVern is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

From the Manual: Router Setup Manual / Getting to Know Your Wireless Router / UnpackingYour New Router / Router Front Panel

Item 4:
Internet On (amber) The Ethernet cable is connected but the router has not gotten an Internet address.
On (green) The router has an Internet address.
Blinking Data is being communicated through the Internet port.

Under no circumstance does the "Internet" lamp come on. No Amber, no Green nor blinking! !

Isn't that a clue? DeanVern & thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 28th, 2008, 07:49 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,276
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

do start>run type cmd
type ipconfig

what is the result on pc using ethernet cable
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 28th, 2008, 03:35 PM
DeanVern DeanVern is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
DeanVern is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

Tks, again!
Update: I removed the D-Link router and used just WGR614. I now have the "Internet" lamp lite and flickeringon the WGR614. Have connection to the Internet and can talk to the client computer and the wireless Laptop. Great! However, I am unable to connect to the Internet with the client computer. Have run the HomeNetwork Wizard without success in fixing the client Internet problem. Both computers are XP. Laptop is Vista.

Have a hint? Tks, DeanVern
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 28th, 2008, 04:20 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,276
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

Quote:
Have connection to the Internet and can talk to the client computer and the wireless Laptop. Great! However, I am unable to connect to the Internet with the client computer.
I miss on dlink.. are you wanted to use dlink as primary router? if so this is another option

http://kbserver.netgear.com/inquira/...46#__highlight


if internet is not working behind WGR router with current setups.
post ipconfig...

also try using 4.2.2.1/4.2.2.2 DNS entry at PC... PC side (NOT ROUTER)
http://vpncasestudy.com/download/usefuldoc/dns_tips.pdf

check with wired before anything.. since wireless you will need to access setup wireless part..
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 2nd, 2008, 05:18 AM
DeanVern DeanVern is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
DeanVern is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

A little late - been busy.

You asked about the D-Link? It was p/o the original hardwired network. I removed it. The WGR614 does all that I need with it's 4 LAN ports.

All is working now including access to the Internet from ALL computers. Tks for the help.

DeanVern
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 2nd, 2008, 06:04 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,276
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: WGR614 v9 no Internet light, no Config Assnt

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanVern View Post
A little late - been busy.

You asked about the D-Link? It was p/o the original hardwired network. I removed it. The WGR614 does all that I need with it's 4 LAN ports.

All is working now including access to the Internet from ALL computers. Tks for the help.

DeanVern
sounds good.. happy surfing
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:28 AM.