Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Enterprise/Business Products > Firewall / VPN Devices > VPN Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 11th, 2007, 09:36 AM
jguenrdc jguenrdc is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
jguenrdc is on a distinguished road
Default VPN throughput question

I was looking at the VPN specs and I have a question. The FVS338 (for example) specs say "up to 60 Mbps for 3DES throughput". Does this mean that if I only use one tunnel, I could get up to 60 Mbps (if my internet connection is that fast), or does this mean that each of the 50 possible tunnels can only get up to 60/50 = 1.2 Mbps?

Jay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 12th, 2007, 04:13 PM
KWheelerAZ's Avatar
KWheelerAZ KWheelerAZ is offline
Moderator
Advanced NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 734
KWheelerAZ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN throughput question

I would refer to this first: http://www.netgear.nl/catalogus/cata..._RefGuide1.pdf
The VPN throughput is typically measured on a single tunnel basis. So if you bring up all 50 tunnels it would be 60Mbps/50=1.2Mbps. But remember unless you're connecting this to a DS-3 at 45Mbps you won't have anywhere close to 60Mbps on the Internet port anyway.

But that's just my 2 cents worth . . .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 12th, 2007, 04:38 PM
Jeff Fulton Jeff Fulton is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 89
Jeff Fulton is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN throughput question

And remember that it's usually the slowest part of the connection that controls the speed. So if you're connecting a pair of 1500/512 dsl services, the maximum vpn throughput will be 512 kbps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 15th, 2007, 07:30 AM
jguenrdc jguenrdc is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
jguenrdc is on a distinguished road
Default Re: VPN throughput question

Thaks for the replies. I realize the internet connection is a limiting factor, but to simplify the question I was ignoring that. I should have worded my question a little differently: If I am only using one VPN connection, is the max throughput 60 Mbps or 1.2 Mbps (=60/50)? I ended up calling tech support after I posted the original question, and they said the same as you: If I'm only using one VPN, the max is 60 Mbps.

Jay
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:20 AM.