Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 7th, 2008, 03:44 PM
Yagame Yagame is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Yagame is on a distinguished road
Default Comcast Netgear modem/router --> Netgear WNR834

Hi all,

I Need help configuring a network with two routers (Netgear modem/router --> Netgear WNR834B)

I need the second router because it supports Dynamic DNS which I would in turn use for Remote Desktop. I'm trying to avoid spending money on a Cable Modem & having to register the new modem with the Cable ISP

The first router/modem (isp provided) is up and running. It Has Internet Cable plugged in (comcast), is broadcasting wireless signal for my roommates laptop, & a hard line going from it to my room for my desktop. When plugged into my desktop, all is fine as DHCP gives me an IP address & web access.

I added the Second WNR834B router to the equation by plugging the Line from the modem into the new routers WAN port & my desktop into a free port on the WNR834B. This allows me to access the internet & DHCP assigns me a different IP address based on the range from the WNR834B router.

WNR834B IP is 192.168.1.1
Modem/Router is 192.168.0.1

In the later config., I cannot get any of the ports open (for P2P stuff, Gaming stuff or whatever). In addition, I have a Free Account with DynDNS which when input & tested, won't actually enable itself on the router. I confirmed that the account was actually working by configuring it with my friends DLINK router and his dsl service. I killed the service from his end so that I can resume testing with my new WNR834B. I also tried putting the WNR834B router under DMZ, which allows me to access the internet, but still port forwarding & Dyn DNS remain disabled.

Any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 7th, 2008, 07:00 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,299
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Comcast Netgear modem/router --> Netgear WNR834

always post all the detail. model of the cable

you had choice of use dyndns update (app)-dyndns.com or no-ip.com should also have application run to update they dynamic IP info which runs on PC without buying a router or

I would have change the comcast provided to wireless router with DLINK cable modem from like bestbuy and use with your WNR.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:06 PM.