#1  
Old April 20th, 2008, 08:39 AM
Ifti Ifti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Ifti is on a distinguished road
Default Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

Are the 'RangeMax' extended Range options on by default??
This router is supposed to offer a wireless signal that is x10 over standard wireless routers - just wondering if I need to activate this feature or whether its already on by default??

This is the first wireless router I have purchased, and Im currently typing this while sitting in the garden! Im loving it so far!! lol
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 20th, 2008, 10:35 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

if you see the manual you will learn how to login the router and find out where it is
http://kbserver.netgear.com/downloads_support.asp

look here what you are asking... demo
http://interface.netgear-forum.com/WPN824v2/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 23rd, 2008, 08:34 AM
Ifti Ifti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Ifti is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

I was hoping for a direct answer, rather then 'check the manual'......
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 23rd, 2008, 09:10 AM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

most people donne e en read manual all the answer is.

You would already know enable or not

Login the router and see for yourself. Which manual will tell you how to login
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 25th, 2008, 01:27 PM
Ifti Ifti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Ifti is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

In that case what is the point in this forum?
You may as well tell everyone to check their manuals, then login and sort the issue out themselves!
My issue was not how to login to the router etc, but was simply whether the extended range was enabled by default, and how to know it was on.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 25th, 2008, 02:38 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

it obvious that yu did not login and look wireless setting.

Two location for wireless setting for it. You would already saw it if you look web interface
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 28th, 2008, 09:17 AM
Ifti Ifti is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Ifti is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

Many thanks for your brilliant help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 1st, 2008, 10:48 AM
jamerz3294 jamerz3294 is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
jamerz3294 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
if you see the manual you will learn how to login the router and find out where it is
http://kbserver.netgear.com/downloads_support.asp

look here what you are asking... demo
http://interface.netgear-forum.com/WPN824v2/
I actually have the same exact question! We just switched over from dinosaur dialup to satellite ISP WPN824v2 (yea), but...
My desktop, in the home office, has no troubles getting, and staying online. However, my wife's laptop (Dell Inspiron 1520, Windows XP Pro) has limited connectivity?! Her laptop is in the kitchen, approx 30 feet away. Along one of the walls in between we have our wired surround sound speakers, and there is also a wireless phone on the same counter as her laptop.
The problem is that her connection gets dropped (intermittently, and for no apparant reason), and she also has problems getting back online.
The place that did the install says that there "must be" intereference between the router and her laptop. When they sold me this equipment, they assured me that it was the latest and greatest, (installed 17 Mar, 2008), and now I find out that this router is EOL, and no support?!Ack!
So, I was hoping to find a new driver, or may figure out how to increase the range of the router?
I'm not an illiterate, but reading the manuals really does get confusing.
any ideas and/or help is muchly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 1st, 2008, 11:07 AM
hansn hansn is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Germany - Pfaffenhofen/Ilm
Posts: 417
hansn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

Both devices have to use rangemax-technic too.
It's not a big effect, if only the router has rangemax.
The wlan-connection is bidirectional.

So you should add rangemax to your wifes notebook:
http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adap...xAdapters.aspx



Hans N.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 1st, 2008, 04:54 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Extended Range Options - WPN824v2

Quote:
The place that did the install says that there "must be" intereference between the router and her laptop. When they sold me this equipment, they assured me that it was the latest and greatest, (installed 17 Mar, 2008), and now I find out that this router is EOL, and no support?!
you always want to investigate interfere issue with any surrounding first. And we can give you definite answer since frequency travels different and location you are at. could phone caused issue with 2.4G base close by. it's only by trial and error

While WPN are MiMO tech unit you dell internal wireless are not and you may need to adjust the wireless setting to B and G .

also it would help what is your setting over "limited connectivity". NO o/s in for on this laptop . don't even know if you are using internal wireless or other
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:15 PM.