Go Back   NETGEAR Forums > Home Products > Wireless Networking Products for SOHO applications > Wireless Router & Modem Gateways > 802.11b/g/n Routers > All 802.11 b/g/n Routers > Super-G (108 Mbps) & 802.11g (54 Mbps) Routers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 25th, 2008, 06:50 AM
damole damole is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
damole is on a distinguished road
Default WGR614 Reboot from web interface

Is there a way to reboot the WGR614 remotely i.e. not pulling the plug out.

My router is not in the room where I use my computer so it would be nice to be able to reboot it remotely. This feature ia available on other Netgear products so I don't understand why it would have been left out of this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 25th, 2008, 07:33 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,329
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

usually under diagnostic there is reboot.

which version of wgr
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 25th, 2008, 08:03 AM
damole damole is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
damole is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

Account Name WGR614v6
Firmware Version V2.0.19_1.0.19

There isn't a diagnostics link for this router.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 25th, 2008, 09:20 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,329
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by damole View Post
Account Name WGR614v6
Firmware Version V2.0.19_1.0.19

There isn't a diagnostics link for this router.
I heard this before..
I don't see it either
http://interface.netgear-forum.com/WGR614v6/start.htm

unless new firmware fixes or simply complain Netgear.. that is all you can do.

there is other products that can control power outlet from the network to do On/off time but that is added hardware

https://my.netgear-support.com/myNETGEAR/ENG/login.asp
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 26th, 2008, 10:19 AM
damole damole is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
damole is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

I found a work-a-round in another forum. Just check and uncheck the 'Default DMZ Server' box under WAN Setup and click apply.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 26th, 2008, 10:28 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,329
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by damole View Post
I found a work-a-round in another forum. Just check and uncheck the 'Default DMZ Server' box under WAN Setup and click apply.
what actually help you with DMZ.. DMZ will not do any reboot the router function..
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 26th, 2008, 08:39 PM
damole damole is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12
damole is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmizoguchi View Post
what actually help you with DMZ.. DMZ will not do any reboot the router function..

When you change certain settings of the router it needs to restart, DMZ is one of these. So all I'm doing is checking the box and then unchecking the box, leaving it as it was, but this causes the page to think something has changed and so restarts the router. So I'm not using DMZ at all, I'm just using the DMZ settings box to fool the router into thinking something has changed and therefore cause it to reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 26th, 2008, 08:48 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 95,329
jmizoguchi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

I see ! Bit cheasy way to do it bit I guess any you can use any thing to change settings to reboot.
__________________
VPN Case Study (www.vpncasestudy.com)
Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study
"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"
*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]

Most Other Useful Docs -"General Technical Documentation", "Router Reset", "Router Setup", "Print Server Tips", "Remote Admin"
"Wireless Tips"


Forum Policy

June Mizoguchi-i....@vpncasestudy.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 2nd, 2010, 12:39 PM
dibbn dibbn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 1
dibbn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

I know this is an old thread, but it helped me out, so thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 16th, 2011, 04:36 AM
SkipR's Avatar
SkipR SkipR is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
SkipR is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Comparison with KWGR614 Reboot from web interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by damole View Post
When you change certain settings of the router it needs to restart, DMZ is one of these.
If you looking for how to reboot the KWGR614 via the web GUI you get the same issue as WGR614 - it is not on the GUI menus. This above tip was helpful for the KWGR614 in as much as I found a work around for that model too. The DMZ did not cause a router restart (you can tell if it has worked just look at the log page before and after you do this).

To reboot the KWGR614 via the web GUI goto "Basic Settings" page and just press "apply" button and it will reboot (as shown in log page of KWGR614 which says "System initializing..." )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:38 PM.