#1  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 01:02 PM
Lawson Lawson is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Lawson is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

I purchased a new Dell PC running Win XP Home to replace my aging Gateway PC. My wireless network is working fine. What I want to do is install the Netgear router software on my new PC. How do you do that without going through the whole setup again? The router is working fine, but I have no way to access the router for admin.

Lawson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 01:13 PM
MillRat MillRat is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
MillRat is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

You don't need to have any S/W installed. As long as you have a Netgear modem, just access it at www.routerlogin.net or 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1. All you'll need is whatever login name and password to which you set the router during config. If you didn't, the defaults are "admin" and "password" (or "1234" if your equipment is a real relic).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 02:32 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

read manual

http://kbserver.netgear.com/downloads_support.asp

basic question is on the manual
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 02:33 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,468
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

No drivers or other software are installed when you use the setup CD with a router. The CD is just an aid to setting up and once you have done this your network is created. Adding further PCs and other devices does not require the setup to be run again.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 04:54 PM
Lawson Lawson is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Lawson is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

I am new to wireless, so please forgive my basic questions. How do I sign-on to the router for admin purposes?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 05:01 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawson View Post
I am new to wireless, so please forgive my basic questions. How do I sign-on to the router for admin purposes?
read my post.. download manual..

and Millrat also gave you the tips
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 05:04 PM
Lawson Lawson is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Lawson is on a distinguished road
Default Re: WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

I did as you suggested and it worked fine. Thanks to all for your help and such a quick response.

Lawson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 3rd, 2008, 05:16 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Thumbs up Re: WGR614v7 - New PC re-install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawson View Post
I did as you suggested and it worked fine. Thanks to all for your help and such a quick response.

Lawson
Great... always refer to manual at least once.. most are right front of you..

glad to assist
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:42 AM.