#1  
Old July 18th, 2008, 04:53 AM
Stanza Stanza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Stanza is on a distinguished road
Default Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

Hi all,

I am a complete n00b when it comes to networking
I have two desktop pcs both on Windows XP SP2 connected to a wireless RangeMx Next WNR834B router.
The router is connected to my cable modem through an ethernet cable.
Both LAN LEDs 1 and 2 are illuminated green so I guess there is nothing wrong with the ethernet connections of the two desktops.
The internet LED is flashing green which means that there is nothing wrong with the coection between the router and the modem.

I have tried pinging the router's address 192.168.1.1 but I get 'the host is unreachable'.
I also tried restoring the router to its factory settings but still no joy.
What's interesting is that I was able to connect to this site the day before but not today.

Please advise.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 18th, 2008, 08:01 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,612
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

Go to a Command Prompt (Start, All Programs, Accessories, Command Prompt) and type ipconfig /all when the PC is connected to the router. If the router has allocated IP addresses to the PC then you should see the router address as the gateway address, typically a 192.168.x.1 IP address. If you see 169.254.x.y then DHCP has failed for some reason and Windows has allocated itself an IP address. If you see a public IP address e.g. 122.106.x.y then maybe you connected the modem to a LAN port by mistake.

If you have a software firewall in the PC try disabling it.
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 19th, 2008, 12:06 PM
Stanza Stanza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Stanza is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

Thanks for the response Mars Mug.

This is what I get when I do ipconfig /all:

Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\User>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ADMIN
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
Ethernet Controller
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-4D-42-0B-12
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
This shows the IP address of the ethernet card. Not sure if this looks right to you.

I not have any firewall software and have already disabled the Microsoft one. I have Spysweeper enabled but does that count as firewall software?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 19th, 2008, 12:28 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

look ip address 192.168.0.1

YOU CAN NOT USE SAME IP AS ROUTER if 192.168.0.1 is router's ip

got to your network adapters tcp/ip properties and change to obtain automatically
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 19th, 2008, 02:41 PM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,612
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

As June suggested, you have DHCP disabled, this might help;

http://documentation.netgear.com/ref...work-3-12.html
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 19th, 2008, 06:22 PM
Stanza Stanza is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Stanza is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net [SOLVED]

Awesome, that seemed to have fixed it !

Didn't know it was that easy.

Thanks for the help guys.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 19th, 2008, 06:29 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net [SOLVED]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanza View Post
Awesome, that seemed to have fixed it !

Didn't know it was that easy.

Thanks for the help guys.
someone has changed it. if ti was not set as "obtain automatically" you or someone had to change it. it will not change it's own

glad to assist
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 20th, 2008, 03:06 AM
Mars Mug's Avatar
Mars Mug Mars Mug is offline
Moderator
NETGEAR Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stevenage UK
Posts: 12,612
Mars Mug is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

The default setting for DHCP in the TCP/IP properties is Enabled, so somewhere along the line it has been manually set on that PC, not that it matters now. Glad you’re sorted
__________________
I don't work for Netgear.

My name is Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 31st, 2010, 11:13 AM
xctraveler xctraveler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
xctraveler is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

I am very late to this thread - RangeMax Dual Band N300 or WNDR3300 - cannot connect to routerlogin.net, ipconfig shows 192.168.1.1 for gateway and I just hang. I can ping 192.168.1.1 and it is clean and fast. I do have dhcp set.

Now What?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 31st, 2010, 11:58 AM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Cannot connect to www.routerlogin.net

Disable any third party firewall and try again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:53 AM.