#1  
Old July 24th, 2008, 07:54 PM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Considering a WNR3500

I have a WPN824 V2 at the moment
and after a few days of use the router goes bad and i get packet loss
so have to reboot the router to fix the problem

Im considering a WNR3500 as an upgrade whats people opinion of them

Range
Reliability
Speed
etc


Also does anyone know the specs as i was disapointed with the wpn824's specs
when i found them out ages after buying

180mhz cpu 16meg ram 2 Meg Flash Atheros AR2313
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 25th, 2008, 03:33 PM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

I have found out why my WPN824 V2
bombs after a few days

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Router_Slowdown




Why hasnt this been added to the WPN824 as its a simple crude fix
for the problem

Also does anyone know if the WNR3500 does this
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 29th, 2008, 03:10 AM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

I have just ordered one

if this has stability problems like my wpn824 its going to be my last netgear
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 29th, 2008, 01:44 PM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

For anyone interested

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/conte...30264/187/1/5/

The WNR3500 uses a Marvell TopDog based design. The Marvell chip rundown: 88F5180 processor; 88E6131 8 port gigabit Ethernet switch; 88W8363 Baseband/MAC; 88E1112 gigabit Ethernet PHY; 88W8060 2T3R Transceiver.
All these parts are the same as in the WNR854T, except the Baseband/MAC, which is an 88W8161 in the WNR854T.


its just a WNR854T with the wireless card moved to the pcb

they fitted a 88W8060 gn Radio which is like $0.50 cheaper than the agn radio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 29th, 2008, 01:51 PM
GLaDOS's Avatar
GLaDOS GLaDOS is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
Posts: 1,428
GLaDOS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

Nice, you enjoy talking to yourself. ;-)
I'll check that link in a bit. But sounds interesting.
As for the DD-WRT stuff. That is a custom firmware, and you don't have that kind of control in the netgear firmware.
__________________
-GLaDOS
"The Enrichment Center is committed to the well being of all participants. Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test. Thank you for helping us help you help us all."
"All right, keep doing whatever it is you think you're doing. Killing you and giving you good advice aren't mutually exclusive. The rocket really is the way to go."

"Stop squirming and die like an adult, or I'm going to delete your backup. STOP! Okay, enough, I deleted it. No matter what happens now, you're dead. You're still shuffling around a little, but believe me, you're dead. The part of you that could have survived indefinitely is gone. I just struck you from the permanent record."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 29th, 2008, 02:05 PM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

I realise its custom firmware
read the router slowdown wiki

the tables get filled and thats what causes the problems
netgear need to clear out these tables to fix the problem's
that plague netgear routers with bittorrent

this is a simple fix and could be added to the netgear firmware in an hour or so

Im posting this info as it is very hard finding info on the wnr3500
hardware wise and it has taken me a few days to find

so it should help other's asking the same questions






Issues occur with many routers, including routers running DD-WRT, when using the router with heavy P2P applications. The router becomes 'slow' over time, and restarting helps for a short time. Some symptoms can be:

* Slow web-interface, or cannot connect at all to web interface
* Slowing transfer of data, e.g. browsing, after a reboot
* Not responding to ping
* Router Crash or even rebooting

Usually the culprits are heavy P2P software like Emule, Bittorrent, uTorrent, Azureus, Shareaza or something similar. These programs, by default, can require a lot of connections which could cause the routers' ip_conntrack table to get full.

* Especially BitTorrent's DHT feature sends thousands of UDP packets that quickly overflow this table.

Routers affected with this issue are the most common types of routers running DD-WRT.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 29th, 2008, 02:15 PM
GLaDOS's Avatar
GLaDOS GLaDOS is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
Posts: 1,428
GLaDOS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

I won't deny the fact that there is a problem. And that is most likely the problem. But the real problem is that the only way to get it fixed is to open cases about it, and get it escalated to corporate.
And netgear, in my opinion, won't pay the programmers alot of money to rewrite something useful. (Granted, it may be a few lines of code.) To fix something simple, unless it becomes an issue to where it they can't ignore it.
__________________
-GLaDOS
"The Enrichment Center is committed to the well being of all participants. Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test. Thank you for helping us help you help us all."
"All right, keep doing whatever it is you think you're doing. Killing you and giving you good advice aren't mutually exclusive. The rocket really is the way to go."

"Stop squirming and die like an adult, or I'm going to delete your backup. STOP! Okay, enough, I deleted it. No matter what happens now, you're dead. You're still shuffling around a little, but believe me, you're dead. The part of you that could have survived indefinitely is gone. I just struck you from the permanent record."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 29th, 2008, 03:34 PM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

When it turns up im going to enable telnet
if its running linux i will fix it myself

hopefully it will be linux as the wnr854t has 32meg ram so i presume the wnr3500 will also

vxworks routers have less ram 8 or 16 meg usually
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 29th, 2008, 04:27 PM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

I have downloaded the source its running linux for the 500mhz arm9 cpu
will fix it myself

alot of the code is linksys's it seems
what i found realy funny was the

wrt54g.large.ico file in /etc just with a new picture to look like a netgear router
they where to lazy to change the code to netgear.large.ico

class
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 6th, 2008, 08:25 AM
Shonky Shonky is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Shonky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Considering a WNR3500

My WNR3500 arrived today

I have telnet'd in and checked the specs

Its just a cut down version of the WNR854T

Wireless on pcb instead of mini pci card
No Heatsink On The CPU (854T Does)
16 Meg Ram instead of 32 Meg
4 Meg flash instead of 8 Meg
500 Mhz Arm9 Cpu = same


I dont advise anyone buying this its more money than the WNR854T and has lower specs

This thing costs 130 ($260) in the UK
I Can get the WNR854T for 40 ($80)

I am feeling quite ripped off at the moment


Here's some info from telnet


BusyBox v1.01 (2008.05.15-09:19+0000) Built-in shell (msh)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

# version
Release version : Netgear Wireless Router WNR3500
U12H09200/V1.0.22/6.0.22
Time : Jun 25 2008 09:41:43

# cat /proc/version
Linux version 2.4.27-vrs1 (weal@hotteam.cs) (gcc version 3.4.4 (release) (CodeSourcery ARM 2005q3-1)) #1 Wed Jun 25 09:39:13 CST 2008

# cat /proc/cpuinfo
Processor : ARM926EJ-Sid(wb) rev 0 (v5EJl)
BogoMIPS : 332.59
Features : swp half thumb fastmult

Hardware : MV-88fxx81
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000

# cat /proc/meminfo
total: used: free: shared: buffers: cached:
Mem: 14909440 14405632 503808 0 880640 2088960
Swap: 0 0 0
MemTotal: 14560 kB
MemFree: 492 kB
MemShared: 0 kB
Buffers: 860 kB
Cached: 2040 kB
SwapCached: 0 kB
Active: 3880 kB
Inactive: 2240 kB
HighTotal: 0 kB
HighFree: 0 kB
LowTotal: 14560 kB
LowFree: 492 kB
SwapTotal: 0 kB
SwapFree: 0 kB

# ps x
PID Uid VmSize Stat Command
1 0 416 S init
2 0 SW [keventd]
3 0 SWN [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
4 0 SW [kswapd]
5 0 SW [bdflush]
6 0 SW [kupdated]
7 0 SW [mtdblockd]
142 0 484 S swresetd
144 0 380 S dnsRedirectReplyd
146 0 1212 S httpd
150 0 592 S dnsmasq -h -n -c 0 -N -i br0 -r /tmp/resolv.conf -u r
151 0 504 S udhcpd /tmp/udhcpd.conf
153 0 484 S ddnsd &
159 0 476 S heartbeat
163 0 604 S pot run
165 0 940 S upnpd
173 0 660 S /usr/sbin/email
184 0 580 S lld2d br0
222 0 532 S wpsd
226 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
231 0 460 S /bin/sh
234 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
235 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
239 0 572 S /usr/sbin/timesync /sbin/ntpclient
240 0 440 S udhcpc -i eth0 -p /var/run/udhcpc0.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc
243 0 648 R wsccmd /tmp/wsc
248 0 648 R wsccmd /tmp/wsc
249 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
250 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
251 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
252 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
253 0 648 S wsccmd /tmp/wsc
254 0 696 S hostapd -W /tmp/wsc/hostapd.conf
5795 0 536 S telnetd
10292 0 500 S /bin/sh
10493 0 552 R ps x
#
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:43 AM.