#1  
Old July 27th, 2008, 07:55 PM
LORA LORA is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
LORA is on a distinguished road
Default Trouble using WNDR3300 and WN111

I installed the WNDR3300 no problem to my desktop, then got the WN111 for a laptop (Gateway running XP, SP2)- had a horrible time with that installation- finally got it to work, but it only will pull in the 2.4 signal at 54 mbps. What the heck am I doing wrong? The desktop is running at 100mbps strength, so I know the capability is there- how do I make the magic? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 28th, 2008, 01:14 AM
Unifex Unifex is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Unifex is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trouble using WNDR3300 and WN111

I had some similar issues with my WNDR3300 and a different netgear USB adapter. Try updating the firmware on the router (you may have to follow the instructions for the manual update of firmware, ie, download it from netgear website to a PC then upload it to the router, as on mine, the auto update says there is no new firmware), and get the latest drivers from netgear for the USB adapter.

It worked for me...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 31st, 2008, 11:03 PM
cyclone cyclone is offline
Member
NETGEAR User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 120
cyclone is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trouble using WNDR3300 and WN111

The WNDR3300 router by default is setup as 5GHz 270Mbps mode + 2.4GHz 54Mbps mode. If you are using the default setting and connect using WN111, you will connect as 2.4GHz 54Mbps mode. Try to login to router and choose the wireless setting from default mode to 2.4GHz 270 mode, then you should connect your WN111 as 270Mbps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 17th, 2008, 10:47 AM
LORA LORA is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
LORA is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trouble using WNDR3300 and WN111

Thank you both. I followed your advice and FINALLY am able to connect at 270. Netgear offers possibly some of the most user-unfriendly links I have ever encountered. Thank goodness for your input- that adapter was about to become landfill.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 17th, 2008, 01:02 PM
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Trouble using WNDR3300 and WN111

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORA View Post
Thank you both. I followed your advice and FINALLY am able to connect at 270. Netgear offers possibly some of the most user-unfriendly links I have ever encountered. Thank goodness for your input- that adapter was about to become landfill.
there is one you should know.. knowing your equipment is most important as well. Compare to other devices on home appliances , networking is not always made for someone never setup or knowledge of the networking.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:42 PM.