#1  
Old August 30th, 2008, 11:08 AM
Kelly4real Kelly4real is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Kelly4real is on a distinguished road
Default Using a WGR614 Router as a wireless Access Point

I have two WGR614 routers, one is already connected to our cable connection, and I was wondering if it was possible to connect the second router to the network wirelessly in order to boost the signal. I found a couple people mentioning placing this router in bridge mode, but I don't know how to do that, or if I can do it wirelessly. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 30th, 2008, 11:19 AM
GLaDOS's Avatar
GLaDOS GLaDOS is offline
Senior Member
NETGEAR Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Aperture Science Enrichment Center
Posts: 1,428
GLaDOS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Using a WGR614 Router as a wireless Access Point

This router, as far as I know doesn't support bridge mode.
Second, what you want isn't an "access point" you want a repeater. Which this router doesn't support either.

You can use this router as a second access point, but you will need to have an ethernet cable going to it in order to use it as such. And disable everything in this router except for the wireless radio, and hook the cable to the LAN side of the router, do not use the WAN side.
__________________
-GLaDOS
"The Enrichment Center is committed to the well being of all participants. Cake and grief counseling will be available at the conclusion of the test. Thank you for helping us help you help us all."
"All right, keep doing whatever it is you think you're doing. Killing you and giving you good advice aren't mutually exclusive. The rocket really is the way to go."

"Stop squirming and die like an adult, or I'm going to delete your backup. STOP! Okay, enough, I deleted it. No matter what happens now, you're dead. You're still shuffling around a little, but believe me, you're dead. The part of you that could have survived indefinitely is gone. I just struck you from the permanent record."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 30th, 2008, 12:09 PM
jmizoguchi's Avatar
jmizoguchi jmizoguchi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kentucky, USA
Posts: 0
jmizoguchi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Using a WGR614 Router as a wireless Access Point

NO bridge on this model


here is how to to access point using wired to your main router


http://kbserver.netgear.com/inquira/...46#__highlight
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 30th, 2008, 04:47 PM
Dslnet Dslnet is offline
Junior Member
NETGEAR Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Dslnet is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Using a WGR614 Router as a wireless Access Point

WGR614 V8, V9 support "Wireless bridge mode", just flash latest firmware.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:24 PM.